|Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers|
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
|Other Citizen Services|
Own Your Future: Virginia's Long-Term Care Awareness Campaign
Read the letter from the State Health Commissioner and the Board of Medicine's Executive Director on the Completion of Death Certificates
2014 SCAM ALERT
The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers received a call from a FH in Newport News, VA who reported that someone tried to scam their funeral home earlier this week and in fact the same scam was attempted 4 years ago.
The FH received a death call from a family that stated that their loved one died at a hospital in Norfolk, VA and that the Funeral Home had been highly recommended as this FH handled another funeral in their family. The person on the phone said they wanted them to handle the removal and embalming and then have the body sent to Baltimore. Later the person called back to get the cost and had the Baltimore FH on the line. Later the person called again and asked about purchasing a casket from the Virginia Funeral Home so the VA FH arranged for the person to come to the FH the next morning.
The person never showed up so the VA FH called the Baltimore FH. The Baltimore funeral director said that the person told him that they did not have the money to get to Baltimore and asked if he could wire some money (based on an insurance policy). The Baltimore funeral director wired the person about $200.
When they both figured out that there was a problem, each of them called the Virginia hospital and were told that there was no patient or decedent by the name given by the caller. The VA Funeral Home stated that she kept thinking that this sounded familiar and went to a file she keeps on strange happenings and found her notes from 2010 that almost the exact same thing happened then. The only difference was that the other funeral home was in New Jersey and they were out $160.
ATTENTION CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS and LICENSEES
The Board will only accept for credit Continuing Education courses that are directly related to the scope of practice of funeral service. The practice of funeral services is defined in §54.1-2800 as “engaging in the care and disposition of the human dead, the preparation of the human dead for the funeral service, burial or cremation, the making of arrangements for the funeral service or for the financing of the funeral service and the selling or making of financial arrangements for the sale of funeral supplies to the public.
Classes for credit must emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, preneed contracts and funding, or federal or state laws and regulations governing the profession. Courses for which the principal purpose is to promote, sell or offer goods, products or services to funeral homes are not acceptable for the purpose of credit toward renewal. (18VAC65-20-151)
Consumer Information about Funeral Planning. Click here to read the article on FTC's website.
Attention Funeral Service Licensees:
You may begin to notice the use of the title Funeral Service Licensee (FSL) versus the use of Funeral Service Provider (FSP). The Code of Virginia defines the title of Funeral Service Licensee but Funeral Service Provider does not have a legal definition. This does not require any changes on your part.
Please view a short business video regarding Complying with the FTC Funeral Rule. (Click here to link to the Bureau of Consumer Protection's website.)
Virginia Wounded Warrior Program
Memorial contributions can now be designated for assistance to Virginia veterans and their families by donating to the Virginia Wounded Warrior Program.
Here is the link to the brochure on the website. http://www.wearevirginiaveterans.org/Get-Involved/Donate.aspx
FTC Warns Small Businesses: Don’t Open Email Falsely Claiming to be From FTC. Click here to read the article on FTC's website.
FTC Warns Consumers: Scammers Hit New Low by Sending Fake Funeral Notices. Click here to read the article on FTC's website.
ATTENTION CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS
Continuing Education On-Line Courses: The Virginia Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers will only allow a maximum of two (2) hours credit for on-line Continuing Education Courses. The Board will allow CEU providers to update courses to meet this criterion by June 30, 2013. There will be no fees in addition to the renewal fee for courses revised to meet this maximum number of hours.
Extension of renewal requirements for deployed military and spouses
Virginia law allows active duty service people or their spouses who are deployed outside the U.S. to have an extension of time for any requirement or fee pertaining to renewal until 60 days after the person’s return from deployment. The extension cannot last beyond 5 years past the expiration date for the license. For more information, please read attached policy and contact the applicable board for your license.
Virginia Department of Veterans Services
To implement the 2012 legislation passed regarding Unclaimed Remains of Veterans, the Department of Veterans Services (DVS) requests the assistance of funeral homes in identifying the unclaimed veterans remains. Please see the following from DVS:
Death Certificate Information:
Letters from Karen Remley, MD, MBA, FAAP, State Health Commissioner:
* June 27, 2011, letter regarding death certification-related regulations taking effect July 1, 2011
* August 3, 2010, letter to physicians regarding timely completion of death certificates
* August 3, 2010, letter to funeral service providers regarding development of a plan to improve the death certification process
Public Health Information
Funeral Rule ALERT: Click here to read information provided by the FTC dated March 18, 2009.
Verification Information: To request a verification of licensure submit your request in writing; include your full name, license number or social security number, your current mailing address and the address of where you want the verification sent. Attach the required processing fee of $50.00 check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.
Allow five to seven business days for processing. The board verifies profession, license number, issue date, expiration date, how the licensee obtained Virginia licensure, and if there have been any disciplinary actions. Should a licensee need their national scores verified they should contact the International Conference of Funeral Service Boards (NBE) www.theconferenceonline.org
Verifications received without the required fee will not be processed.
Mail your request and fee to:
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
You may request a fax confirmation of your licensure information at no additional charge by calling our automated verification line at 804-270-6836. Just enter your license number or social security number and you will be prompted to enter a fax number for delivery of the fax. You may also verify licensure information online by using License Lookup
Online Licensing - Many licensees can now renew a license, change an address and request a duplicate license online. Funeral Establishment, Crematories, Funeral Service Provider, Funeral Director and Embalmer license types can now renew online.
Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation - More
The Adult Protective Services Program at the Virginia Department of Social Services is pleased to announce the availability of a new online educational opportunity for mandated reporters of abuse, neglect and exploitation of older or incapacitated individuals. This online training course has been developed for, and with the assistance of, mandated reporters and APS professionals to assist mandated reporters in understanding adult abuse and their responsibilities as mandated reporters. Read More...(word .doc)
The FTC and the Board Settle Antitrust Charges Regarding Price Advertising Rules. Click here to view documents.
Laws & RegulationsKeep in the know about important laws and regulations:
Laws and Regulations Governing Funeral Directors and Embalmers
Laws Governing All Health Professions
Forms and Applications
Download the available forms and applications from the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.
View the list of Professions regulated by the Board.
Frequently Asked QuestionsFind the answers to common questions. Includes information regarding Continuing Education.
Board CalendarView the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers Calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
View the current Board Members.
CEU ProvidersView a current list of Board approved continuing education providers. (Word)
Read the latest board news in the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers' newsletters.