Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
Questions related to Interns and Supervisors

<<Back to FAQ's

 

Funeral Interns

Funeral Intern Supervisors

 

Questions related to Funeral Interns

What are the application requirements to become a funeral intern?

A person desiring to become an intern (funeral service intern, funeral directing intern, or embalming intern) shall apply on a form provided by the Board, which shall include documentation of the applicant’s qualifications and signatures of any supervising licensees. The form can be found on the Board’s website underApplications and Forms.

In addition, the applicant shall attest that he holds a high school diploma or its equivalent, pay the required fee (currently $150) and provide to the Board any additional documentation that may be required to determine eligibility.

(Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817; 18VAC65-40-180; 18VAC65-40-40)

What if I have a prior criminal conviction?

The Board, in its discretion, may approve an application to be an intern for an individual convicted of a felony, if he has successfully fulfilled all conditions of sentencing, been pardoned, or has had his civil rights restored. The Board shall not, however, approve an application to be a intern for any person convicted of embezzlement or of violating subsection B of § 18.2-126.

The Board, in its discretion, may refuse to approve an application to be an intern for an individual who has a criminal or disciplinary proceeding pending against him in any jurisdiction in the United States.

(Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817)

Am I required to complete mortuary school prior to an internship?

No, completion of mortuary school is not required for registration as an intern.

(Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817)

How many internship hours must I complete?

Effective as of January 5, 2021, with the Board’s Emergency Regulations for licensure of funeral directors and embalmers, an internship for funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming shall consist of at least 2,000 hours of training to be completed within no less than 12 months and no more than 48 months.
In addition, before a funeral service intern becomes eligible to be examined for the practice of funeral services, the intern shall present evidence along with an affidavit from any licensee under whom the intern worked showing that the intern has assisted in embalming at least 25 bodies and in conducting at least 25 funerals.
A funeral directing intern shall receive training in all areas of funeral directing, including assisting in at least 25 funerals, 25 arrangement conferences, as well as visitations and financing of funeral services.

An embalming intern shall receive training in all aspects of embalming practice, including assisting in at least 25 embalmings, as well as treatment, restorative art, safety and sanitation, and organ, tissue, or anatomical donation.

(Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817; 18VAC65-40-130(A))

If I started a 3,000 hour internship, how many hours must I complete?

Effective as of January 5, 2021, with the Board’s Emergency Regulations for licensure of funeral directors and embalmers, an internship for funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming shall consist of at least 2,000 hours of training to be completed within no less than 12 months and no more than 48 months.
An applicant is required to complete the minimum hours and case requirements for an internship as established by the Board’s regulations in order to become eligible for licensure as a funeral service licensee, funeral director, or embalmer.

(18VAC65-40-130(A); 18VAC65-20-231, 18VAC65-20-232, Virginia Code Section 54.1-2813)

I completed a 3,000 hour internship with 25 funerals and 25 embalmings as a funeral service intern.  I opted to become licensed as an embalmer only.  Can I use my previous internship hours to satisfy the requirements to become a full funeral service licensee?

Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817 provides: “Credit shall not be allowed for any period of internship that has been completed more than three years prior to application for license or more than five years prior to examination for license.”

Whether previously completed internship hours and cases will satisfy licensing requirements will be reviewed by the Board on a case-by-case basis. 
(Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817)

Where can I perform my internship?

According to the Board’s Regulations, 18VAC65-40-210 and 18VAC65-40-220:
Funeral training shall be given at the licensed funeral service establishment or at any branch of such establishment that complies with the Board’s requirements and is approved by the Board as a training site. An individual, firm, or corporation owning or operating any funeral service establishment shall apply to and be approved by the Board prior to permitting funeral training to be given or conducted in the establishment..

In order for an establishment or two combined establishments to be approved by the Board as an internship training site, the establishment or establishments must meet the following requirements:

  1. Have a full and unrestricted Virginia license;
  2. Have complied in all respects with the provisions of the regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers; and
  3. For a funeral service internship, have 50 or more funerals and 50 or more bodies for embalming over a 12-month period for each person to be trained. This total must be maintained throughout the period of training. If the establishment does not meet the required number of funerals or embalmings, the funeral service intern may seek approval for an additional training site; or
  4. For a funeral directing internship, have 50 or more funerals over a 12-month period for each person to be trained. This total must be maintained throughout the period of training. If the establishment does not meet the required number of funerals, the funeral directing intern may seek approval for an additional training site; or
  5. For an embalming internship, have 50 or more bodies for embalming over a 12-month period for each person to be trained. This total must be maintained throughout the period of training. If the establishment does not meet the required number of embalmings, the embalming intern may seek approval for an additional training site.

The Board may grant approval for a funeral service or embalming intern to receive all or a portion of the embalming training at a facility of state or federal government or an accredited educational institution..

(18VAC65-40-210, 18VAC65-40-220)

Top of Page

How many hours per week may I work?

An intern shall be assigned a work schedule of not less than 20 hours nor more than 60 hours per week in order to receive credit for such training. For good cause shown, the Board may waive the limitation on an intern's work schedule..

(18VAC65-40-130(B))

When can I start my internship hours?

Internship hours can only start after an intern has become registered with the Board.  If the internship is not approved by the Board prior to initiation of training, no credit shall be allowed for the length of time served..

(18VAC65-40-201)

Once I am registered, what is the process for reporting my hours?

At the end of every 1,000 hours of training, the intern, the supervisor or supervisors, and the establishment shall submit a written report to the Board.  The report shall:

  1. Specify the period of time in which the 1,000 hours has been completed and verify that the intern has actually served in the required capacity during the preceding period; and
  2. Be received in the board office no later than 14 days following the end of the completion of 1,000 hours.

Please note that credit for future intern hours will not be allowed until the intern’s previous report has been approved by the Board.

If the intern, supervisor, or establishment manager fails to submit the reports as required by the regulations, disciplinary action may be taken against the intern, supervisor and establishment manager.

The reporting forms can be accessed on the Board’s website under Applications and Forms.

(18VAC65-40-330, 18VAC65-40-320)

Who is responsible for completing the intern reporting forms?

Both the funeral intern and the supervisor are responsible for completing the reporting forms and signing the required attestations.

Top of Page

What information do I need to provide in my 1,000 hour reports?

The reports shall specify the time in which the 1,000 hours have been completed and verify that the intern has actually served in the required capacity during the preceding period.

The reports also include information on the intern’s training activities, as well as the funerals and embalmings that the intern has assisted with during the reporting period.  The intern must provide specified information, including case names and dates, regarding the embalmings and funerals with which he or she has assisted.

(18VAC65-40-320; Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817)

What information do I need to provide in my final report?

The Final Completion Report includes an evaluation of the internship to be completed by both the intern and supervisor. The intern and supervisor both must sign the report and attestations.

What if my supervisor cannot sign the reporting forms?

The intern’s supervisor must sign the reporting forms in order for the intern to receive credit for the internship hours reported.

When are reporting forms due to the Board?

The intern, the supervisor or supervisors, and the establishment collectively shall submit a written report to the board at the end of each 1,000 hours of training. The report shall be received in the board office no later than 14 days following the end of the completion of 1,000 hours.

(18VAC65-40-320)

How do I report the termination of an internship to the Board?

Pursuant to 18VAC65-40-320 of the Board’s Regulations:

B. If the internship is terminated or interrupted prior to completion of 1,000 hours or if the intern is changing supervisors or training sites, the intern and the supervisor shall submit a partial report to the board with a written explanation of the cause of program termination or interruption or of the change in training or supervision.

1. The partial report shall provide the amount of time served and the dates since the last reporting period. Credit for partial reports shall be given for the number of hours of training completed.

2. Partial reports shall be received in the board office no later than 14 days after the interruption or termination of the internship or after the change in supervisors or training sites.

(18VAC65-40-320)

Top of Page

Do I need to renew my intern registration with the Board each year?

Yes, intern registrations shall expire on March 31 of each calendar year and may be renewed by submission of the renewal notice and prescribed fee.

A person who fails to renew a registration by the expiration date shall be deemed to have an invalid registration. No credit will be allowed for an internship period served under an expired registration.

(18VAC65-40-90)

What if I need more time to complete my internship?

For good cause shown, the board may grant an extension of time for completion of an internship.

According to the Board’s Guidance Document 65-15, revised January 24, 2019, the board policy on granting an extension is as follows:

Further, if all requirements for licensure are not completed within five years of initial application, the Board may deny an additional internship.

(18VAC65-40-130; Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817; Guidance Document 65-15)

Can I lose credit for my hours?

According to Virginia Code § 54.1-2817:

Credit shall not be allowed for any period of internship that has been completed more than three years prior to application for license or more than five years prior to examination for license. If all requirements for licensure are not completed within five years of initial application, the Board may deny an additional internship.

(Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817; 18VAC65-40-320)

Do I need to complete continuing education hours as an intern?

No, an intern is not required to complete continuing education hours for renewal of an intern registration.

What if my address, name, employment, or supervision changes during the course of my internship?

The intern is responsible for notifying the board within 14 days of any changes in name, address, employment, or supervisor.

(18VAC65-40-90)

Top of Page

 

 

Questions related to Funeral Intern Supervisors

What are the requirements to become an intern supervisor?

The Board shall approve only funeral service licensees, licensed funeral directors, or licensed embalmers to give funeral training who have a full and unrestricted Virginia funeral license, have at least two consecutive years in practice and are employed full time in or under contract with the establishment, facility, or institution where training occurs. A supervisor licensed as an embalmer or a funeral director shall provide supervision only in the areas of funeral practice for which he/she is licensed.

Further, a licensee seeking approval by the board as a supervisor shall submit a completed application and any additional documentation as may be required to determine eligibility.

The application for supervision of a funeral service intern shall be signed by the establishment manager and by the persons who will be providing supervision for embalming, funeral directing, and/or funeral services.

(Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817; 18VAC65-40-280)

What are the supervision requirements for a funeral service internship?

The Board’s Regulations, 18VAC65-40-250, contain the following requirements for supervision:

A. Training shall be conducted under the direct supervision of a licensee or licensees approved by the board. Credit shall only be allowed for training under direct supervision.

B. The board shall approve only funeral service licensees, licensed funeral directors, or licensed embalmers to give funeral training who have a full and unrestricted Virginia funeral license, have at least two consecutive years in practice and are employed full time in or under contract with the establishment, facility, or institution where training occurs.

C. A supervisor licensed as an embalmer or a funeral director shall provide supervision only in the areas of funeral practice for which he is licensed.

D. Failure to register as a supervisor may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.

E. If a supervisor is unable or unwilling to continue providing supervision, the intern shall obtain a new supervisor. Credit for training shall resume when a new supervisor is approved by the board and the intern has paid the prescribed fee for the change of supervisor.

(18VAC65-40-250)

How many interns am I permitted to supervise?

No more than a combined total of two funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming interns shall be concurrently registered under any one person licensed for the practice of funeral service, funeral directing or embalming. Each supervisor for a registered funeral directing intern or a registered embalming intern must be actively employed by or under contract with a funeral establishment.

(Virginia Code Section 54.1-2817)

Top of Page

 

What are my responsibilities as a supervisor?

The Board’s Regulations, 18VAC65-40-340, set forth the responsibilities of an intern supervisor as follows:

A. The supervisor shall provide the intern with all applicable laws and regulations or sections of regulations relating to the funeral industry.

B. The supervisor shall provide the intern with copies of and instruction in the use of all forms and price lists employed by the funeral establishment.

C. The supervisor shall provide the funeral service or funeral directing intern with instruction in all aspects of funeral services and shall allow the intern under direct supervision to conduct all necessary arrangements for a minimum of 25 funerals.

D. The embalming supervisor shall provide instruction on all necessary precautions, embalming functions, and reporting forms and shall allow the funeral service or embalming intern under direct supervision to perform a minimum of 25 embalmings.

E. The supervisor shall provide the funeral service or funeral directing intern with instruction in making preneed funeral arrangements and instruction on the laws and regulations pertaining to preneed funeral contracts and disclosures.

F. The supervisor shall provide the funeral service or funeral directing intern instruction on cremation and on the laws and regulations pertaining to cremation.

G. If a training site does not offer preneed funeral planning or cremation services, the supervisor shall arrange for such training at another licensed funeral establishment that does.

(18VAC65-40-340)

What is my responsibility for an intern’s hourly reports?

Both the intern and the supervisor are responsible for completing the reporting forms and signing the required attestations.

The reporting forms can be accessed on the Board’s website under Applications and Forms.

(18VAC65-40-330)

If I am licensed as a Funeral Director only, can I also provide supervision to an intern in embalming?

A supervisor licensed as an embalmer or a funeral director shall provide supervision only in the areas of funeral practice for which he is licensed.

(18VAC65-40-250)

If I am licensed as an Embalmer only, can I also provide supervision to an intern in funeral service?

A supervisor licensed as an embalmer or a funeral director shall provide supervision only in the areas of funeral practice for which he is licensed.

(18VAC65-40-250)

What steps do I need to take as a supervisor if the intern is terminated?

Pursuant to 18VAC65-40-320 of the Board’s Regulations:

B. If the internship is terminated or interrupted prior to completion of 1,000 hours or if the intern is changing supervisors or training sites, the intern and the supervisor shall submit a partial report to the board with a written explanation of the cause of program termination or interruption or of the change in training or supervision.
1. The partial report shall provide the amount of time served and the dates since the last reporting period. Credit for partial reports shall be given for the number of hours of training completed.

2. Partial reports shall be received in the board office no later than 14 days after the interruption or termination of the internship or after the change in supervisors or training sites.

(18VAC65-40-320)

If my establishment has multiple locations, can I train at all of them?

No, funeral interns are only allowed to complete training at the location approved by the Board. The Board will approve a maximum of two training sites.

Top of Page