Your browser does not support javascript

Application Wizard - Veterinarian

Please choose one of the following:

I am applying for a Virginia license for the first time and have passed the NAVLE. (Licensure by examination)

I have been licensed in another jurisdiction of the U.S. and have been engaged in clinical practice for two of the last four years. (Endorsement)

I want to reinstate my License to Practice Veterinary Medicine.

   

Exam  

An application requires the following documentation:

  • Official copy of transcript from a college or school of veterinary medicine accredited by the AVMA conferring degree OR in lieu of a transcript from an accredited college or school of veterinary medicine submit a certificate of completion of the Educational Commission of Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) program or the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE);
  • Examination scores from NAVLE (since the fall of 2000) or National Board Examination and Clinical Competency Test of the ICVA (prior to the fall of 2000); and
  • Licensure verification of all licenses, ever held, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S.

 Please follow the Apply Now button to begin the online application process.

 

 

You may qualify for licensure by Endorsement

  • An application requires the following documentation:
    Licensure verification of any licenses ever held, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S.
  • Written documentation of clinical practice as a veterinarian for at least 2 of the past 4 years immediately preceding application. Clinical practice may be verified on the Board’s optional employment verification, company letterhead or tax returns (1040) that reflect occupation; and
  • Completion of 30 hours of continuing education during the preceding four years.
    NOTE: If unable to provide documentation of clinical practice for 2 of the past 4 years, an applicant may seek licensure by examination.

  Please follow the Apply Now button to begin the online application process.

Reinstatement Applications  

When a license has not been renewed within one year of the expiration date, a person may apply to reinstate their license by submission of a reinstatement application.

  • Continuing education hours as required by § 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC-150-20-70 of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine equal to the number of years in which the license has been expired, for maximum of 2 years (15 hours per year);
  • Verification of any licenses ever held, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S. or its territories and District of Columbia. Copies/faxes of licensure verifications or licenses are not accepted. NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification language that includes disciplinary history; and
  • Submission of application and reinstatement fee.

Please complete the Application for Reinstatement.

Applications for reinstatement will need to be mailed to:

Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine
vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov | Contact the Board
Leslie L. Knachel, Director
Jeffery Newman, DVM, President