Your browser does not support javascript

Application Wizard - Veterinary Technology

Please choose one of the following:

I passed the VTNE and graduated from an accredited veterinary technology or veterinary nurse program.

I have been licensed in a US jurisdiction, passed VTNE, active practice for 2 of past 4 years, and NOT graduate of accredited veterinary technology/nurse program.

I have been licensed in a US jurisdiction, graduate of veterinary technology/nurse program, active practice for 2 of past 4 years, and NOT passed VTNE.

I want to reinstatement my expired Virginia license to practice veterinary technology

I want to reactivate my inactive Virginia license to practice veterinary technology

   

Exam  

An application requires the following documentation:

  • Official copy of transcript from a school of veterinary technology accredited by the AVMA or CVMA conferring degree;
  • Examination scores – Contact American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) to release VTNE scores to Virginia. If examination taken through VTNE in Virginia and is less than one year old, a request for score transfer is not required; and
  • Verification of any veterinary technology licenses, certifications or registrations ever held by each board, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S.

 Please follow the Apply Now button to begin the online application process.

 

 

You may qualify for licensure by Endorsement

To qualify you are required to hold a current unrestricted license, certification or registration issued by a regulatory entity in another jurisdiction of the U.S. A certification by a veterinary technology association is not accepted.

  • Written documentation of having been regularly engaged in clinical practice as a licensed, certified, or registered veterinary technician for at least two of the past four years immediately preceding application. Clinical practice may be verified on the Board’s optional Employment Verification Form, company letterhead or tax returns (1040) that reflect occupation;
  • Official copy of transcript from a school of veterinary technology accredited by the AVMA or CVMA conferring degree; OR
    National examination scores from AAVSB. If examination taken through VTNE in Virginia, a request for score transfer is not required;
  • Documentation of completion of at least 16 hours of continuing education during the preceding four years; and
  • Verification of any veterinary technology licenses, certifications or registrations ever held by each board, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S.

NOTE: If unable to provide documentation of clinical practice for two of the past four years, an applicant may seek licensure by examination.

  If you meet the above requirements please follow the Apply Now button to begin the online application process.

Reinstatement Application  

When a license has not been renewed within one year of the expiration date, a person may apply to reinstate their license by submission of a reinstatement application.

  • Continuing education hours as required by § 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC-150-20-70 of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine equal to the number of years in which the license has been expired, for maximum of 2 years (8 hours per year);
  • Verification of any licenses, certifications or registrations ever held, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S. or its territories and District of Columbia. Copies/faxes of licensure verifications or licenses are not accepted. NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification language that includes disciplinary history; and
  • Submission of application and reinstatement fee.

Please complete the Application for Reinstatement.

Applications for reinstatement will need to be mailed to:

Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

Reactivate a License to Practice Veterinary Technology  

If you hold a Current Inactive license to practice veterinary technology and wish to return to practice. Please complete the Application for Reactivation of an Inactive License

Applications will need to be mailed to:

Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine
vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov | Contact the Board
Leslie L. Knachel, Director
Tregel Cockburn, DVM, President