Your browser does not support javascript

Laws and Regulations

Laws as of July 1, 2023 - Selected sections of the Code of Virginia

Laws Governing Physical Therapy


Final Regulations - Regulations currently in effect for practitioners under the Board

Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy

Public Participation Guidelines


Emergency Regulations - Amended regulations in effect for 18 months

None at this time


Proposed Regulations - Amendments to regulations proposed by the Board

All of the Board's proposed regulations can be found on the Townhall website.


Petition for Rulemaking

Petition for Rule-makingIf you would like the Board to consider amending one of its regulations or rules, you may file a "petition for rule-making". The Board is required to publish your petition in the Virginia Register and post it online at to begin a 21-day comment period on the request. Within 90 days after the comment period or 14 days after its next scheduled meeting, the Board will issue a decision on whether it will grant or deny the petition. A copy of the petition form is provided. You may email the petition to the address below, fax it to the number on the form or mail it to the Board address.


Duty to Report Adult or Child Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation

By law, the persons licensed as health care practitioners have a duty to report to the Virginia Department of Social Services or the local departments of social services any known or suspected incidences of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of children or elderly and incapacitated adults. Contact information and a copy of the law may be obtained at: Legal Requirements to Report Child Abuse and Adult Abuse.

Virginia Board of Physical Therapy
Corie E. Tillman Wolf, J.D., Executive Director
Mira H. Mariano, PT, PhD, OCS, President