CHECKLIST FOR SUBMISSION

OF

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION 

BY EXAMINATION

AS A MEDICATION AIDE

PRIOR TO SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION, PLEASE ASSURE THAT THE FOLLOWING ITEMS ARE PRESENT IN YOUR APPLICATION PACKET:

____ A completed application for Registration by Examination—Medication Aide.

____ Documentation of successful completion of a staff training program in direct client care approved by DSS OR of an approved nurse aide education program.

____ Successful completion of one of the following:


_____ The 68 hour medication training program and performance record approved by the BON


OR


_____ A nursing education program for RNs or LPNs

_____ If you have any criminal conviction(s), please contact the court(s) and have them mail certified copies of court documents regarding your conviction(s). Also send documentation that your have complied with any requirements of the court such as probation, fines and community service.

_____ Application fee of $50 payable to: Treasurer of Virginia.

By providing the above information in a timely manner, your application can be processed more quickly. All documentation should be mailed to:

Medication Aide Registry

Board of Nursing at DHP

Perimeter Center

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

You may find all forms, regulations, candidate brochure (from PSI, the testing company), and FAQs (frequently asked questions) on our website at www.dhp.virginia.gov. 

	


	COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
Board of Nursing

Department of Health Professions

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
(804) 367-4515  (804) 527-4455 – FAX

www.dhp.virginia.gov  


	FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
	
	
	
	

	File #     


	Program Code #
	Fee
	Certificate of Completion

	Acknowledgment Sent
	Approved
	Registration Number


	Date Issued

	Provisional Letter:  (       /       /       

	Date Passed:


APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION
BY EXAMINATION-MEDICATION AIDE
I hereby make application for registration as a medication aide in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The following evidence of my qualifications is submitted with a check or money order in the amount of $50 made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  The application fee is non-refundable.

Disclosure of Addresses

Some licensees have expressed concern that their residence address is accessible to the public.  Consistent with Virginia law, a licensee’s address of record is public information. However, it is permissible for an individual to provide an address of record other than a residence, such as a Post Office Box or a practice location.  Changes of address may be made at the time of renewal or at anytime by written notification to the appropriate health regulatory board.  Please be advised that all notices from the board, to include renewal notices, licenses, and other legal documents, will be mailed to the address provided.

1.  Identifying Information

	APPLICANT - Please provide the information requested below and on the next two pages. (Print or Type) 



	Name:        Last                                              First                                   Middle                                                 Maiden

                                                                                                  (Use full name, not initials)


	Street Address



	City                                                                             State                                                         Zip Code



	Date of Birth (M/D/Y)
	Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number


	Area Code & Telephone Number

	Print your name as you wish it to appear on your registration:




APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION BY EXAMINATION -- MEDICATION AIDE , cont’d.
2.  Medication Aide Training Education Information 
	Name of Education Program Provider:
	Program Provider Address
	Type of Program (check appropriate box):

    _____  68-hour Medication Aide Training

    _____ Nursing education program for

                Licensure as a RN  or LPN



	  Date of Completion of 68-hour Curriculum:

                /                 /                    


	  Certificate of Completion of 

  68-hour Curriculum Attached?

   (  Yes         (  No
	Additional Training Requirement : 

40-hour Direct Care?     (  Yes         (  No

Certified Nurse Aide?    (  Yes         (  No


3.  PLEASE RESPOND TO THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:

a.  Have you ever applied for licensure / registration / certification as a health care provider in Virginia?  Yes ____ No ____


If yes: Year ________  Type of license/registration/certificate ________________________________

b.  Have you ever applied for licensure / registration / certification as a health care provider in another state?  Yes ___ No ___

If yes:  State ____________ Year Certified/Licensed ________ Type of License/Certificate _________________

c.  Have you ever been licensed / registered / certified as a medication aide in any jurisdiction?  Yes ____ No ____


If yes:  
State of original licensure/certification ________________________Year licensed/registered/certified __________



License/Registration/Certificate number ________________________________ 

3.  Please answer YES or NO to EACH of the following:

a.
Have you ever been denied a license / registration / certificate in a health related field or jurisdiction?  YES ___ NO___

b.
Has any license / registration / certificate issued to you been voluntarily surrendered?  YES ____ NO ____

c.
Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license / registration / certificate by any licensing/certifying authority in any jurisdiction:  placed on probation, suspended, revoked or reprimanded or otherwise disciplined?  YES ____ NO ____

d.
Has your practice ever been the subject of an investigation by any licensing/certifying authority? YES ___ NO ____

If you answered yes to any of the above questions, please explain in detail below and have certified copies of any applicable orders sent directly to this office.

5.  Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty to or pled Nolo Contendere to the violation of any federal, state or other statute or ordinance constituting a felony or misdemeanor?  (Including convictions for driving under the influence, but excluding traffic violations.)  YES ____ NO ____.  If yes, explain below OR on a separate piece of paper and have a certified copy of the court order sent directly to the Board of Nursing.

6.  Do you have a mental, physical or chemical dependency condition which could interfere with your current ability to practice as a medication aide?  YES ____ NO ____.  If yes, explain below and have a letter from your treating licensed professional summarizing diagnosis, treatment and prognosis sent directly to the Board of Nursing.

PLEASE BE SURE THAT YOU HAVE ANSWERED EACH OF THE ABOVE QUESTIONS. Including #5 and #6.
EXPLANATIONS:
APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION BY EXAMINATION -- MEDICATION AIDE , cont’d.


Attach with a paper clip, one (1) recent passport type

photograph of yourself. Your photograph must be 

signed on the front.

	AFFIDAVIT
(To be completed before a Notary Public)
State of _________________________________  County/City of ________________________________________

Name ______________________________________, being duly sworn, says that he/she is the person who is referred to in the foregoing application for registration as a medication aide in the Commonwealth of Virginia; that the statements herein contained are true in every respect; that he/she has complied with all requirements of the law; and that he/she has read and understands the affidavit.

                                                                                                                _________________________________________

                                                                                                                         Signature of Applicant

Subscribed to and sworn to before me this ________ day of ____________________________, ____________.

My commission expires on _______________________________.

                                                                                                          _____________________________________

SEAL                                                                                                                  Signature of Notary Public




Effective July 1, 2007;Revised 8/19/08;1/6/09; 8/27/2009;8/1/2012
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