
 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

BOARD OF NURSING (VBON) 

Perimeter Center: 9960 MAYLAND DRIVE, Suite 300 

HENRICO, VIRGINIA  23233-1463 

(804) 367-4515 or www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing  

CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS FOR 

REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION 

FOLLOWING SUSPENSION OR 

REVOCATION 

Check One:         RN             LPN 

Fee: $300 

Check here if you are requesting reinstatement 

after a Mandatory Suspension  

Pursuant to Virginia nursing regulation 18 VAC 90-20-230 a Nurse whose license was suspended or revoked may apply 

for reinstatement. If previous license(s) revoked, must wait until three (3) years have elapsed from the revocation order 

entry date.   
 

Note: Virginia is a compact state under the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC).  If your primary state of residence is a compact state, 

you must apply for licensure in your primary state of residence (compact state). If your primary state of residence is Virginia or a non-

compact state, and your Virginia license has been expired for more than two years, you can apply in Virginia for reinstatement.  

indicate on the application your primary state of residence. For a current list of states in the NLC and NURSYS participating 

states go to: www.nursys.com/NLV/NLVJurisdictions.aspx.  

 

 REQUIREMENTS are listed below to submit an application for Reinstatement. Check applicable items 

that are included with your application: 

 

 Completed Reinstatement application and required fee: Fees must be paid by check or money order, made 

payable to The Treasurer of Virginia. Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have 

submitted payment. Fees are non-refundable. 
 

 Completed continuing education requirements*: Provide evidence of completing at least one (1) of the learning 
activities or courses specified in 18 VAC 90-20-221during the two (2) years immediately preceding application for 
reinstatement (*30 hours of CEUs required without active practice OR 15 hours required with a minimum of 640 
hours of active practice). Applicable regulation regarding supporting documentation for compliance should be 
reviewed at: 18 VAC 90-20-222. * Above continuing education requirements do not apply to reinstatement 
after a mandatory suspension by the Director of the Department of Health Professions (DHP) pursuant to 
Virginia Code § 54.1-2409. 

 
 The Board may waive all or part of the continuing education requirement for a nurse who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in another state AND who has engaged in active practice during the period the Virginia license 

was lapsed.  Evidence must be provided to request that the VBON waive CE requirements. 

 

 By checking this box, I am requesting VBON consider waiving continuing education requirements by providing 

written verification of active licensure and active practice during the time my license was expired to include: 

 copy of current license (only for non-NURSYS participating states);  

 letter from employer on official letterhead verifying: name/position/dates of employment; 
 copy of a recent pay stub with: name/position/name of the medical facility. 

 

 Completed criminal history background check required by Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1: Within 7-10 business 

days after confirmed payment receipt for your filed application, you will receive a Fieldprint Code.  This code is 

required to register for fingerprinting, which must be done exclusively through Fieldprint Va.  You must have a 

confirmed application filed with VBON prior to registering for fingerprinting.  If you do not receive your 

Fieldprint Code within 7-10 business days, you may contact the VBON CBC unit.  
 

Additional Information: 

 The Board may request additional evidence that the nurse is prepared to resume practice in a safe, competent manner. 

 Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing.  

 Documents submitted with the application are property of the Board and cannot be returned. 

 
 PLEASE INCLUDE THIS COMPLETED INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST WITH APPLICATION   

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter20/section230/
http://www.nursys.com/NLV/NLVJurisdictions.aspx
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter20/section221/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter20/section222/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2409/
file://DHPSPS/gng57853$/Criminal%20Background%20Checks/Virginia%20Code/Va%20Code%20Section%2054.1-3005.1.pdf
http://fieldprintvirginia.com/
mailto:VBONCBCUnit@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing


 

 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

Department of Health Professions - Board of Nursing 

Perimeter Center 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA 23233-1463 

(804)367-4515 – PHONE        (804) 527-4455 – FAX 
web:  www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing  

 

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE AS A 

REGISTERED or PRACTICAL NURSE (RN or LPN) 

FOLLOWING SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION 
I hereby make application to reinstate my nursing license in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The following information 

in support of my application is submitted with a check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia in the 

amount of $300.  The fees are non-refundable. 

 

Disclosure of Addresses 
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.02 addresses of licensees are made available to the public.  Normally, the Address 

of Record is the publicly disclosed address.  If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, you may 

provide a second, publicly disclosable address (e.g. work or practice address). If you would like your Address of Record 

to be publically available  complete both sections with same address. 

 

Disclosure of Social Security or DMV Control Numbers 
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (A) , you are required to submit your social security number or your control number issued by 

the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not 

be refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other 

purposes except as provided for by law.  Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child 

support enforcement activities. 

 

APPLICANT -  provide the information requested below and on 

all pages. (Print or Type) Use full name, not initials. 
Applicant Type (Check 

One): 

  RN    LPN 

Mandatory Suspension: 

 

   YES      NO 

Name:        Last 
 

 

First 
 

 

 Middle/Maiden 
 

 

Suffix 
 

 

Address of Record (Mailing Address) 
 

 

City 
 

 

State  
 

 

Zip Telephone Number 

Publicly Disclosable Address 
 

 

City 
 

State  
 

 Zip 
 

Telephone Number 
 

 

Email Address 
 

Fax Number 

Date of Birth  
___  ___ / ___ ___ / ___ ___ ___ ___ 

 Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number* 

 

Virginia RN or LPN License Number 

 

 

Full Name at Time of Initial Licensure Date First License 

Issued 
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FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (Finance Division) FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (BON Staff) 

Fee Paid: 

 $300 
Applicant ID # Receipt # Approved Date 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2400.02/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-116/


 
1. Declare your primary state of residence:  __________. 

2. Declare your state(s) of current practice: ________  ________  ________  ________  ________. 

3. List your current job title (position title):_____________________________________________. 
4. This question applies to any license or certificate as a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, or nurse aide that may 

have been issued to you except the one which is currently revoked or suspended.  Answer YES or NO to EACH of 

the following: (If you answer yes to any of the questions,  explain in detail below and have certified copies of any 

applicable orders sent directly to this office.) 
 

 Have you ever had disciplinary action taken against your license to practice in a state or against your multi-state 

privilege to practice? YES      NO  

 Have you ever been denied a license or certification in a health related field or jurisdiction?  YES      NO  

 Has your practice ever been the subject of an investigation by any licensing authority?  YES      NO  

 Has any license issued to you ever been voluntarily surrendered?  YES      NO  

 Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license by any licensing authority 

in any jurisdiction:  placed on probation, suspended, revoked or otherwise disciplined?  YES      NO  

 

4. Is your license in good standing in all jurisdictions where licensed? YES      NO    (If no, explain below.) 

 

5 Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to leave 

employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia?  YES    NO ;or Are you active-duty military? YES    

NO  

  

6. Respond in full to the following questions.  You will need to provide documentation only if the response is different 

from that on your last application with this office but you must state below that the information was previously 

provided. 

 

 Answer YES or NO to each question: 

 

 Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty to  or pled Nolo Contendere to the violation of any federal, state or 

other  statute or ordinance constituting a felony or misdemeanor?  (Including convictions for driving under the 

influence, but excluding traffic violations)?  YES      NO  If yes, explain below and have a certified copy of 

the court order sent directly to the Board of Nursing. 

 Do you have a mental, physical or chemical dependency condition which could interfere with your current ability 

to practice nursing?  YES      NO  If yes, explain below and have a letter from your licensed treating 

professional summarizing diagnosis, treatment and prognosis sent directly to the Board of Nursing. 

EXPLANATIONS: 
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7. List all of your employers since your license was suspended or revoked. Include addresses, telephone number, dates 

of employment and reason for leaving. 

 
Employer Name 

(Current/Most Recent Employer 

First) 

City/State Employment 

Start Date 

Employment 

End Date 

Reason for 

Leaving 

     

     

     

 

     

     

     

     

     

 
8.   List any educational offerings you have participated in since your license was suspended or revoked. 

Name of Education Offering or Program Dates of Participation 
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Revised: 10/20/16 

 

AFFIDAVIT 
(To be completed before a Notary Public) 

 

State of _____________________________________  County/City of ________________________________________ 

 

Name ______________________________________, being duly sworn, says that he/she is the person who is referred to 

in the foregoing application for licensure as a registered nurse in the Commonwealth of Virginia; that the statements 

herein contained are true in every respect; that he/she has complied with all requirements of the law; and that he/she has 

read and understands the affidavit. 

                                                                                                                _________________________________________ 

                                                                                                                         Signature of Applicant 

 

Subscribed to and sworn to before me this ________ day of ____________________________, ____________. 

 

My commission expires on _______________________________. 

 

                                                                                                          _____________________________________ 

SEAL                                                                                                                  Signature of Notary Public 

 


