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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA  
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

 

 

Department of Health Professions 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 

(804) 367-4441 
Website - http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social  

 

GENERAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 

FOR CHANGE OF STATUS (INACTIVE TO ACTIVE) AS A  

SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) OR CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (LCSW) 
A social worker wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active licensure minus any 
fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and document completion of continued competency hours equal to the 
number of years the license has been inactive, not to exceed four years. An applicant for reactivation shall also provide 
evidence of competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding 
application; or 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding application; 
or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding licensure 
in Virginia. 

Instructions: 

Submit the enclosed status change request and supporting documentation in one package to the address indicated 
above. Please review this checklist to make certain that all the required documents are submitted. 

 Fee: the following fee must be paid: 

 Licensed Social Workers (LSW) will be required to submit $55.00 fee which must be paid by check or 
money order made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”. This fee is non-refundable. 

 Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) will be required to submit $60.00 fee which must be paid by 
check or money order made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”. This fee is non-refundable. 

 Continuing Education (CE) Certificates:  

 Licensed Social Workers (LSW) are required to complete CE for a minimum of 15 hours including two (2) 
hours that pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws 
governing the practice of social work in Virginia for each renewal (up to two renewals). 

 Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) are required to complete CE for a minimum of 30 hours of 
including two (2) hours that pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health 
professions or to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia for each renewal (up to two 
renewals). 

 

Please refer to Regulation 18VAC140-20-105 for the CE requirements and a list of board-approved activities. 

Please refer to Regulation 18VAC140-20-106 for information on documenting compliance with CE requirements. 
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FORM FOR CHANGE OF STATUS (INACTIVE TO ACTIVE)  
AS A SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) OR  

CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (LCSW) 
I hereby submit a request for change of status of my Virginia license number _____________________.    

Name  (Last, First) (Middle Initial) (Maiden) (Suffix) 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number 
 

Date of Birth (MM/DD/YY) 
 
 

Mailing Address (Street and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code) 
 

 Home Telephone Number 

Public Address (Street and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code) Alternate Telephone Number 

E-mail Address 

Check all boxes that apply to you: 

 My license has been inactive for ONLY ONE renewal and I am attesting to the completion of the required: 

 (check one)             15 (LSW) or            30 (LCSW) CE hours as listed in Regulation 18VAC140-20-105.  

 DO NOT MAIL CERTIFICATES WITH THIS OPTION 

 My license has been inactive for TWO renewal periods and I am mailing copies of:  

 (check one)          30 (LSW) or         60 hours (LCSW) of CE certificates as listed in Regulation 18VAC140-20-105. 

 CE CERTIFICATE COPIES REQUIRED WITH THIS OPTION 

Check one option below: 

 I attest that I have practiced social work (LSW) or clinical social work (LCSW) services IN ANOTHER U.S. 

JURISDICTION for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding my application for active status. 

 I attest that I have practiced social work (LSW) or clinical social work (LCSW) services IN AN EXEMPT SETTING IN 

VIRGINIA for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding my application for active status. 

 I attest that I have practiced social work (LSW) or clinical social work (LCSW) services AS A SUPERVISEE for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding my application for active status. 

  

SIGNATURE OF LICENSEE ________________________________________________ DATE _____________________  


