Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Radiologic Technologist Advisory Board
Questions and Answers on Continued Competency Activity for Radiologic Technologists

1. When must I have the required number of continued competency activity completed in order to renew my license?

With the renewal of licensure in 2005. You will be required to sign an attestation on your renewal form in 2005 that you have completed 24 hours of continued competency activities. Falsification on the renewal form is a violation of law and may subject you to disciplinary action.

2. Am I required to send in evidence of my continued competency activity hours at the time I renew?

No. The Board will randomly select licensees for a post-renewal audit. If selected, you would be notified by mail that documentation is required and given a time frame within which to comply.

3. When do the continuing competency requirements begin?

Regulations became effective on June 6, 2001. Hours must be obtained within the two years immediately preceding renewal in 2005. You may not include hours obtained prior to January 1, 2003 nor may you carry over excess hours to the following biennium.

4. Who maintains the required documents for verification continued competency activities?

It is the licensee’s responsibility to maintain the certificates and any other continued competency forms or records for four years following renewal in 2005 and thereafter. Do not send any forms or documents to the Board of Medicine unless requested to do so.

5. What are “Category A” hours?

“Category A” hours (at least 12 each biennium) are those hours approved by the ARRT as Category A. All 24 continued competency hours each biennium may be Category A hours.
ARRT defines Category A hours as those offered by one of the following recognized CE evaluation mechanisms: American College of Radiology, American Healthcare Radiology Administrators, American Society of Radiologic Technologists, Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists, Society of Diagnostic medical Sonography, Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologist Section and Society of Vascular Technology. Some activities that are not recognized CE evaluation mechanisms that qualify as Category A are: activities meeting ARRT’s definition of an Approved Academic Course, CPR activities relevant to the radiologic sciences and/or patient care that have been approved the American Medical Association (AMA Category1) or the American Nurses Association (ANA) or through the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). A contact hour is defined as being equal to 50 to 60 minutes.

6. What are not considered Category A hours?

Any other hours approved by the ARRT that are not Category A.

7. Where do I obtain the instructions and forms for continuing competency requirements?

You may download copies from the website. Records may be maintained electronically, but copies of documentation and forms will be necessary if a radiologic technologist is audited following a renewal cycle.

8. What if I am newly licensed during the 2003-2005 biennial? Do I still have to obtain the full 12 hours of continued competency?

No. There is an exemption for the first biennial renewal following your initial licensure in Virginia.

9. What if I become ill or incapacitated and unable to complete my continued competency requirements prior to renewal?

A written request from the radiologic technologist prior to the renewal date explaining the circumstances and requesting an extension or exemption is necessary for the Board’s consideration. The Board may grant an extension of up to one year or an exemption for all or part of the required hours for the biennium.

10. What if I am now retired and don’t want to obtain continuing competency hours but don’t want to give up my license?

You may request an inactive license from the Board, beginning with your next renewal. It is important to note that holding an inactive license does not authorize you to engage in the practice of radiologic technology in Virginia. If you intend to practice at all in Virginia, even on a part-time or non-compensatory basis, you must retain your active license.

11. What if I take inactive licensure status and later decide to reactivate?

A radiologic technologist whose license has been inactive and wishes to have an active license must pay a fee equal to the difference between the current renewal fee for inactive licensure and the renewal fee for active licensure and verify that he has completed continuing education hours equal to those required for the period in which he held an inactive license in Virginia, not to exceed one biennium.

12. Is there an official format the continued competency activities should be printed on and given to participants?

Documentation of completion could be a certificate or letter to include the name of the sponsor or organization, dates of activity, description of activity and total number of contact hours completed.