From: Virginia Board of Social Work
Sent: Friday, July 29, 2016 9:02 PM
Subject: News from the Virginia Board of Social Work
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The Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work will be updated
effective August 12, 2016.

The changes are attached as a PDF (.pdf) document to this email. These official
updates will be available on the Board’s website shortly. These changes are
particularly important for those applying for licensure, and their supervisors.

Below are several highlights included in the new Regulations, although the
below list does not encompass the entirety of the changes:

e Inorder to obtain LSW or LCSW licensure, a current self-query report
from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services National
Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) (https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/) is
required. This is to be submitted at the time of a new application for
licensure.

o Pending applicants previously approved to take the examination
should submit this as soon as possible to be included with their
file.

e The supervised experience towards LCSW licensure:

o Supervisees shall obtain throughout their hours of supervision a
minimum of 1,380 hours of supervised experience in face-to-
face client contact in the delivery of clinical social work services
(previously required to average 15 hours per 40 hours of work
experience in face-to-face client contact). The remaining hours
may be spent in ancillary services supporting the delivery of
clinical social work services.

o The supervisor shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a
licensed clinical social worker in the jurisdiction in which the
clinical services are being rendered with at least two years
(previously three years) of post-licensure clinical social work
experience. The board may consider supervisors with
commensurate qualifications if the applicant can demonstrate an
undue burden due to geography or disability or if supervision
was obtained in another United States jurisdiction.

o Supervisors are required to notify the Board of any change in
supervision or if supervision has ended or been terminated. A
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“Request for Termination of Supervision” form can be found at
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm.

o Supervisees shall not supervise the provision of clinical social
work services provided by another person.

o After an applicant has failed the examination twice, he shall be
required to register for supervision and complete one additional
year as a supervisee before approval to re-take the examination
is granted. Therefore, if the applicant has applied twice and
received two separate approvals to take the examination, but
does not pass, they will be required to complete an additional
year of board-approved supervision before a third application for
licensure will be considered.

« Active Practice has been reduced to a minimum of 24 out of the past 60
months (previously 36 out of the past 60 months) to apply by
endorsement or reactivation/reinstatement of an expired or inactive
license.

» Professional conduct of a licensee regarding:

o Dual relationships: extends to clients or supervisees, as well as
includes any type of romantic relationship.

o Client’s right to report: if a licensee learns of another mental
health provider that is in violation of the standards of conduct, as
defined in statute or regulations, you shall advise your client of
their right to report such misconduct to the Department of Health
Professions. Information regarding how to file a complaint can
be found at
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Enforcement/complaints.htm.

Please be sure to keep your email updated with the Board for frequent email
communication and updates from the Board. You can update email address at
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/mylicense/renewalintro.asp or by completing the
Name & Address Change form available on the Board’s website.
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