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	Virginia Board of Dentistry Bulletins

The Board is taking two steps to facilitate more frequent and timely dissemination of the Bulletin.  First, future editions will be posted on-line and postcards will be mailed to advise that a new Bulletin is available.  Print copies will be provided upon request.  Second, summaries of the orders issued in disciplinary case decisions are now being prepared as separate reports by calendar year.  Named “Board Case Decisions,” the summaries for 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2005 will be posted in the newsletters section of the Board’s web page by June 1, 2006. 
New Format For Prescription Blanks Required July 1, 2006 

In 2003, the General Assembly eliminated the Virginia Voluntary Formulary as the standard for generic substitution and put into place the FDA "Orange Book" as the new standard. For this reason, the prescription blank requirement for a check box "Voluntary Formulary Permitted" had to be removed from law. There is now no set form for a written prescription blank. Because the term "brand medically necessary" is a nationally accepted term and one that is required by Medicaid in order to ensure payment for a branded product, this phrase was adopted in Virginia law as the required term to prohibit generic substitution. The new law gave prescribers three years to use "old" prescription blanks before the new requirement took effect. After July 1, 2006, checking an old "dispense as written" box will not prohibit generic substitution.   The law allows a pharmacist to dispense a therapeutically equivalent drug for a brand-name drug unless the prescriber indicates that such a substitution should not take place by specifying “brand medically necessary” on the prescription.  More information from the Virginia Board of Pharmacy on prescription forms is available online in “Announcements” at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry. 
New Requirements for Continuing Education 
· After June 29, 2006, all dentists and dental hygienists must maintain training in basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
· After June 29, 2006, all dentists who administer conscious sedation or deep sedation/general anesthesia are required to hold current certification in advanced resuscitative techniques, such as courses in Advanced Cardiac Life Support or Pediatric Advanced Life Support.
· After June 29, 2006, every dentist who administers general anesthesia, deep sedation or conscious sedation is required to obtain 4 hours of continuing education on the administration of anesthesia or sedation within a two-year period.

· After June 29, 2006, every dental hygienist who monitors general anesthesia, deep sedation or conscious sedation is required to obtain 4 hours of continuing education on monitoring of anesthesia or sedation within a two-year period.

· The two-year period will run with the renewal period.  The first course taken to meet this requirement should be taken between April 1, 2006 and March 31, 2008.  The next course must be taken within two years of the first course and would need to be taken between April 1, 2008 and March 31, 2010.


Message from the President
Greetings from the Board of Dentistry. This Bulletin is being sent to each of our nine thousand plus dental health care licensees as an educational newsletter to update you on some of the many items that the board has been working on this past year and to give you some insight on how the Board operates.  
The Board of Dentistry is one of thirteen Boards that make up the Department of Health Professions.  The 10 members of our Board - 7 dentists, 2 hygienists, and one citizen member - are honored to serve the citizens of the Commonwealth at the pleasure of the Governor for a four-year term. Our administrative mandate is the protection of the public in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  To that end, the major areas to which our attention is drawn are licensure, legislation, regulation, and enforcement.  
The Board issues licenses to applicants that meet the qualifications established by the Board.  Licenses must be renewed by April first each year. The Department has made this easy and cost effective by allowing this to be done on the internet.  Be sure to post your license conspicuously in your office along with your employees’ licenses and certificates of training to expose x-ray film. 
Over the last several years there has been great interest in expanding and increasing access to health care in the Commonwealth. Dentists from other jurisdictions, both general and specialists, wishing to practice in the Commonwealth may now apply for licensure as the Board's new regulations allows for licensure by credentials.  Additionally we have been working with the Dental Boards of other states through the American Association of Dental Examiners to advance the concept of one national board exam, rather than the current regional examinations to allow portability of your license to practice in other states.  Virginia now accepts the four major regional exams for competency in clinical dentistry. Board members also have participated in the testing of candidates for licensure. The Board meets regularly with the faculty of  the VCU School of Dentistry to discuss the education of students.
Our legislative initiatives take several forms. Legislation requiring statutory changes or additions generally begin in our Regulatory-Legislative Committee, proceed to the full board and if approved, are submitted to the Department, to the Secretary of Health and Human Resources and to the Governor for inclusion in his legislative package.  If approved, the proposal is submitted to the General Assembly.  When authorized by statute, the promulgation of new or amended regulations is discussed and voted on by the Board with several opportunities for public comment during the process. As regulations change periodically, we recommend that you check our web site regularly to familiarize yourself with these changes. All Board actions as well as items in the legislative process are posted on the web site.
The enforcement area ensures compliance with laws and regulations for the protection of the public. This administrative process is one by which a complaint proceeds through several levels of investigation, review, and resolution.  Many complaints are without merit and these cases are quickly closed.  Some require more involved investigation. The Enforcement Division of the Department of Health Professions has well trained investigators who follow up on  the source of a complaint, discuss with the licensee his or her response to the complaint, may inspect a dental office, obtain documents and evidence, and then submit a  report to the Board. The Board determines if there is probable cause for the licensee to be charged with a violation. Among the options available to the Board, the case may be closed or if probable cause exists to believe a violation has occurred, a licensee may be presented with a confidential consent agreement, a letter of advice, a consent order, or requested to appear for an informal fact-finding conference to discuss the validity of the complaint with a Special Conference Committee. The matter may be resolved at that point. If not, the licensee will be scheduled for a  formal hearing. Violations of regulations or statutes found after an informal conference or formal hearing in the form of findings of fact and conclusions of law serve as the basis for the imposition of a disciplinary sanction. These sanctions may include a reprimand, monetary penalty, remedial action, probation, or suspension or revocation of a license.  
Violations unfortunately span the range of statutes and regulations. If you have a question regarding your practice, you may contact the board. A guidance document may be issued to help with your concern. 
As the Board must be financially self sufficient, and as the cost to the Board for enforcement and administration has increased, there now necessitates a potential license fee increase.  
Several items of guidance to help avoid violations: 
· Dental assistants are limited in their functions as provided for in Board regulations. Do not allow these functions to be exceeded. Read the regulations regarding the duties that may only be performed by a dentist or dental hygienist.
· Advertising cannot be false or misleading. Do not market or advertise your dental practice in a manner that is false, misleading or deceptive. 
· Medical histories must be updated every year. 
· Dental records should be clear and complete. 
· Continuing education requirements are fifteen credits per year including CPR.  
· Take all necessary radiographs. 
· Wear gloves, masks and appropriate protective equipment. 
· Sterilize instruments, perform biological monitoring and follow universal precautions. 
· Prescribe scheduled drugs only to patients of record and only for dental conditions. 
· A patient is entitled to copies of their records, including radiographs, even if they have not paid their bill. 
· When a dentist is administering nitrous oxide, another staff member must be present at all times to monitor the patient in addition to the dentist.
· A patient should consent to the treatment to be performed and to the associated fees prior to treatment. 
· Placement of an amalgam restoration is safe, so you should not state that silver mercury amalgam is toxic or recommend replacement of such restorations based on toxicity.
· Up to two dental hygienists can work under general supervision or direction at any one time for one dentist. 
The Board of Dentistry meets at least four times a year and welcomes any of our fellow dentists, dental hygienists, and members of the public to participate and present input on issues of concern. Clearly the work that we do is dynamic, and as such, the rules and regulations for our profession change.  Our web site is the most up to date avenue to obtain information on the current rules, regulations and topics of interest to our dental community.
Each of our board members spends over thirty days a year involved with board business and should be commended for their dedication. Our staff, led by Executive Director Sandra Reen and Operations Manager Cheri Emma-Leigh, performs a fantastic job in the entire range of board functions. They have shown us why Virginia is the best managed state in the country. 
Please serve your patients well and enjoy our profession.  
                                                                                 Harold S. Seigel, D.D.S.

                                              Board President 

Reporting Adverse Reactions

Dentists are required to make a written report to the Board within 30 days following any mortality or morbidity which results from the administration of local anesthesia, deep sedation/general anesthesia, conscious sedation, or nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation analgesia.  Events which occur in the facility or during the first 24 hours immediately following the patient's departure from the facility must be reported.  For purposes of this requirement, the Board defines “morbidity” to mean any incident which results in transport of a patient to a hospital for a stay of more than 24 hours.
Anesthesia, Sedation and Analgesia

A Power Point presentation on the anesthesia, sedation and analgesia regulations that went into effective on June 29, 2005 is now is available online at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry.  The presentation consists of 64 slides setting out the definitions and major provisions of the regulations.  

New Requirement for Annual Certification

Beginning with renewals in 2007, all licensees will be required to certify on their annual renewal application that they are maintaining current knowledge of the laws and regulations governing the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.    The laws and regulations are available online at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry.
Updated Health History

The Board requires that patient records include an updated health history.  The following guidance was issued in response to questions about how often the health history should be updated: The health history of a patient, who is receiving dental care at least once a year, should be updated at least annually or more often if medically indicated.  If a patient seeks dental care less often than annually, the health history should be updated at the time of each visit.  The taking of an updated health history shall be documented in the patient record.
Changes made to the Dental Practice Act
· Effective July 1, 2004, the Board was given statutory authority to grant a temporary license to persons enrolled in advanced dental education programs and to delegate informal fact-finding proceedings to appropriately qualified agency subordinates.  
· Effective July 1, 2005, the Board was given statutory authority to grant licensure by credentials to qualified dentists.  Also, the statutory provisions on continuing education for dental hygienists were amended so that the Board could permit dental hygienists to carry extra continuing education credits earned in one renewal year forward to the next renewal year. 
· Effective July 1, 2006, the Board will have statutory authority to establish education and training requirements for dental hygienists working under a dentist’s direction to administer nitrous oxide and oxygen inhalation analgesia to patients of any age and to administer Schedule VI local anesthesia for patients 18 years of age or older.  The statute is also being amended to exempt dentists and dental hygienists from the requirement to display their license when serving as a volunteer providing dental service in a clinic operated by a Virginia charitable corporation.  
Enhanced Prescription Monitoring Program

In 2002, in response to a problem with prescription drug abuse which had been documented in Southwest Virginia, the General Assembly passed a law establishing a pilot program for a prescription monitoring program.  The program collects prescription data for specified drug schedules into a central database which can then be used by limited authorized users to assist in deterring the illegitimate use of prescription drugs. The Prescription Monitoring Program is being expanded to the entire state and will include Schedules II-IV.  One significant new deterrent to prescription drug abuse with the new program is the authority for prescribers, mostly physicians and dentists, to query the database to rule out the possibility that a patient is "doctor shopping" or "scamming" the prescriber in order to obtain controlled substances. A prescriber must obtain written consent from the patient before submitting an inquiry.  Prescribers who wish to utilize the system should log onto www.dhp.virginia.gov and download the request form under “Services for Practitioners.”  

Patient Records 

The law regarding patient records (Virginia Code § 32.1-127.1:03) has recently been updated to allow a minor who consented to treatment to obtain his health records and to explain the fee that might be charged for production of records.  A reasonable cost-based fee for providing records is permitted.  The fee shall include only the cost of supplies for and labor of copying the requested information, postage when the individual requests that such information be mailed, and preparation of an explanation or summary of such information as agreed to by the individual. 

General Supervision 
The Board has received reports from dental hygienists about being expected by their employers to “bend the rules” on general supervision.  The principle concern being reported is that dentists are calling the dental hygienists and verbally instructing them to treat patients in their absence even though there is no treatment order and/or office protocol for services under general supervision.  The Board is confirming for these dental hygienists that a written order and all the other requirements must be met before they practice under general supervision.   Their exposure to patient complaints and disciplinary action is also being confirmed.   All licensees should be aware that these reports have the potential to become complaints that will be investigated and addressed by the Board as a disciplinary matter.  
Practitioner Self-Referral Act

State law prohibits dentists and other practitioners from referring a patient for health services to an entity outside the practitioner’s office or group practice if the practitioner or any of the practitioner’s immediate family members is an investor in such entity.  “Investor” is defined as meaning an individual or entity directly or indirectly possessing a legal or beneficial ownership interest, including an investment interest.  The Board of Health Professions may grant an exception to the Act if there is a demonstrated need in the community and certain conditions are met.  Further a practitioner may refer patients for health services to a publicly traded entity in which he has an investment without an exception if certain conditions are met. 
Protection from Bloodborne Pathogens 

The Board has received inquiries from dental assistants about how to protect themselves from exposure to Hepatitis.   These inquiries led to this reminder to dentists about compliance with the OSHA requirements for addressing bloodborne pathogens.  As an employer who has employees that are exposed to blood and other body fluids you are required to:

· have a written Exposure Control Plan which is updated annually and which is designed to eliminate or minimize employee exposure,  
· make available the hepatitis B vaccine and vaccination series to all employees who have occupational exposure, 
· provide personal protective equipment, and 

· ensure that all employees with occupational exposure participate in a training program which must be provided at no cost to the employee and during working hours.
Please visit the OSHA website at www.osha.gov for more information.
Answers from the Board
The Board frequently receives inquiries about the application or interpretation of the laws and regulations governing the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.  These questions are discussed during meetings and responses are adopted by motion.  The following responses have been given by the Board: 

· Dental assistants may apply or dispense bleaching agents under the direction of a dentist.

· Dentists may not prescribe antibiotics for treatment of vaginal yeast infections that may have resulted from antibiotics prescribed for dental treatment.

· Verbal orders for treatment under general supervision are not acceptable.

· Use of BOTOX for cosmetic facial treatments is not within the scope of practice of general dentistry but is limited to the practice of oral and maxillofacial surgery. 
· A licensed dentist with medical training should not use the “MD” credential unless he is currently licensed as a medical doctor in Virginia.
· Administering the Hepatitis B Vaccine is not within the scope of the practice of dentistry.
· Notification of patients is not required when a dentist is retiring from an ongoing practice.
· Dentists may not use personal health insurance to purchase drugs for office use.  The Virginia Drug Control Act requires that drugs be purchased through a wholesale company.
· Only a dentist might use a “water laser” for debridement.
· Having dental hygienists and dental assistants working under direction means the dentist must examine the oral cavity of the patient during the visit.

· Any dentist using the title “Dr.” as part of their business name must show his dental credential, i.e. either DDS or DMD.

· A dental assistant may use a sloflex disc on a slow speed hand piece to remove excess composite adhesive after orthodontic band removable so long as the assistant has the necessary training and skill.

· A trained orthodontic dental assistant may clip a wire or remove a band when a dentist is not present.
Proposal to Allow Expanded Duties for Dental Assistants 

The Board of Dentistry began a regulatory process in early 2005 to address allowing dental assistants with training to do certain patient care procedures presently restricted by regulation to dentists and dental hygienists.  The Board received extensive public comment with general support for allowing expanded duties but with extremely strong opposition to allowing supragingival scaling as one of the delegable duties.   In response to comments received and further discussion, the Board decided to propose legislation to allow for the regulation of two levels of dental assistants before proceeding with regulatory action.   An Ad Hoc Committee of interested and affected organizations was convened on April 14, 2006 to advise the Regulatory-Legislative Committee of the Board on developing the legislative proposal.  The recommendation of the Ad Hoc Committee will be discussed by the Regulatory-Legislative Committee on May 5, 2006.   The Regulatory-Legislative Committee will advance a recommendation for consideration by the Board at its June 9, 2006 meeting.  The Board plans to adopt a proposed bill on June 9th.  
Calendar of Upcoming Board Meetings
	May 12, 2006
	Special Conference Committee B
	September 14, 2006
	Formal Hearings (to be held in Roanoke)

	May 26, 2006
	Special Conference Committee C
	September 15, 2006
	Board Meeting (to be held in Roanoke)

	June 8, 2006
	Formal Hearings
	September 29, 2006
	Special Conference Committee C

	June 9, 2006
	Board Meeting
	October 13, 2006
	Special Conference Committee A

	June 23, 2006
	Special Conference Committee A
	October 27, 2006
	Special Conference Committee B

	July 7, 2006
	Special Conference Committee B
	November 17, 2006
	Special Conference Committee C

	July 21, 2006
	Special Conference Committee C
	December 7, 2006
	Formal Hearings

	August 18, 2006
	Special Conference Committee A
	December 8, 2006
	Board Meeting

	September 8, 2006
	Special Conference Committee B
	December 15, 2006
	Special Conference Committee A


Have You Renewed Your License?

Please check your license to see if it is current.  Dentists and dental hygienists are required to renew their license annually by March 31st.  Having a current license is not a technicality.  Any treatment rendered during the period a license has lapsed constitutes unlicensed practice.  
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