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APPLICATION for REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSURE
Checklist Instructions

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Prior to mailing the enclosed application for Reinstatement of Licensure and below supporting documentation to the Board for
consideration, we recommend that you review the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work available on the Board’s
website at www.dhp.virginia.gov/social to ensure you are applying for the correct application type and have met the requirements for
this application type. Pursuant to 18VAC140-20-30(B) of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work, all fees submitted to
the Board are non-refundable.

We also strongly encourage you to review your application packet to ensure all forms are complete and includes all required forms and
documentation. A complete application packet provides the best opportunity to avoid delays in the application review process. You
should make every effort to mail all the below information in one complete packet to the Board office for consideration.

| REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION

] APPLICATION: The attached application must be completed and mailed to the Virginia Board of Social Work.

[ REINSTATEMENT FEE: A reinstatement fee by check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia must be mailed
with your application. Your application will not be reviewed or consider until you have submitted payment. Pursuant to 18VAC140-20-
30(B), all fees submitted to the Board are non-refundable.

o Licensed Baccalaureate Social Workers (LBSW): $120.00 fee
o Licensed Master’s Social Work (LMSW): $135.00 fee
o Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW): $195.00 fee

] VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE/CERTIFICATION: If you have ever held a health or mental health license or certification,
whether current or expired, please send the enclosed verification form to the issuing jurisdiction (s). This verification is to be
completed by the issuing jurisdiction (s) and mailed back to you and included in your application packet. (Some jurisdictions charge a
fee for this service. Check with that jurisdiction before sending the form. If the jurisdiction requires submitting this information
directly to Virginia’s Board office, please have them indicate your name on the form so that it can be included with your packet for
evaluation.) —or- You can provide an online verification printed from the licensing jurisdiction’s website if the online verification
provides all of the following information; the licensee name, license number, license type, issue and expiration date, and whether
disciplinary action has ever occurred.

(] NPDB SELF-QUERY: A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services National Practitioners Data
Bank (NPDB) must be submitted. You may request a self-query at https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/

[ ] CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) CERTIFICATES:

o Licensed Baccalaureate Social Workers (LBSW) and Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) will be required to submit a
minimum of 7.5 contact hours of continuing education for each year the license was lapsed, not to exceed four years. A
minimum of 1.5 of those hours must pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to
laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.

o Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) will be required to submit a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing
education for each year the license was lapsed, not to exceed four years. A minimum of 3 of those hours must pertain to
ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws governing the practice of social work in
Virginia.

Please refer to18VAC140-20-105 of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work for a list of board-approved activities.
| ADDITIONAL SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION (if applicable) |

[] EVIDENCE OF COMPETENCY: (Only applicable if license has lapsed for ten (10) or more years) An applicant for reinstatement whose
license has been lapsed for (10) or more years shall also provide evidence of competency to practice by documenting:

1. Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding application; or
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2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding application; or

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding licensure in Virginia. The
supervised practice shall include a minimum of 60 hours of face-face direct client contact and 9 hours of face-to-face supervision.

[ ] PROOF OF NAME CHANGE: Documentation must be provided to show each name change(s) if your name has ever been

legally changed from the time you had an active license in Virginia or were licensed in other jurisdictions or other than what is listed
on your application. Acceptable forms of documentation include a photocopy of a marriage license, court order or divorce decree.

[ ] CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS, PAST ACTIONS or POSSIBLE IMPAIRMENTS: If you answer “YES” to any of the questions in

Part 111 of the application, please include a detailed explanation and supporting documentation. If you have no new convictions since
your previously submitted application with the Board, please indicate in your detailed explanation that there have been no new
convictions since your previous submission. Please refer to Guidance Document 140-2, available on the Board’s website, for a list of
required documentation that will be needed regarding criminal convictions, past actions, or possible impairments.

GENERAL INFORMATION

Applications are processed in the order received. Please allow adequate processing time for applications. Applications that are
complete, fully documented and meet the minimum requirements for the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work
will be processed within 30 days of receipt of a complete application packet.

Check your license/registration status by going to: License Lookup (*license information is posted in real time).

Please notify the Board in writing within 30 days of a name change or address change by completing the Name/Address
Change Form available on the Board’s website at www.dhp.virginia.gov/social.

An incomplete application for licensure will be retained on file for one (1) year. If not completed within one year of receipt, a
new application and fee will be necessary.

Providing false or misleading information as well as omitting information in response to information requested in the
application or as part of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of
or taking disciplinary action against an existing registration or license.

Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.02 addresses of licensees/supervisees are made available to the public. Normally, the
Address of Record is the publicly disclosed address. If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, you may
provide a second, publicly disclosable address (e.g. work or practice address). If you would like your Address of Record to be
publically available please complete both sections with same address on the application.

Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (A), you are required to submit your social security number or your control number
issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles*. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be
suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification
and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided for by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be
shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. NO LICENSE WILL BE ISSUED TO ANY
INDIVIDUAL WHO HAS FALIED TO DISCLOSE ONE OF THESE NUMBERS.

Application and required documentation should be mailed to:
Department of Health Professions
Attn: Board of Social Work
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233

End of instructions
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APPLICATION for REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSURE
Paper Application

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (Finance Division) I

Fee Amount Paid Applicant ID # Receipt # Date Processed
$

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT

Part 1. Applicant Identification & Contact Information

Last Name: First Name: Middle/Maiden Name: Suffix:
Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number * Date of Birth: (MM/DD/YYYY)
e Y S

Published Address: This address is subject to public disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act. You may provide an address other
than a residence, such as a Post Office Box or practice location if you wish.

Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Address of Record: The address information you provide below is your address of record with the Board. Please be advised that all
notices from the Board, to include licenses and other legal documents, will be sent to the address of record provided. If you provided a
different public address above, this address is not subject to public disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act and will not be sold
or distributed for any other purpose.

Address:
City: State: Zip Code:
Home Number: Alternate Number:
(— ) - (— ) -
Email Address:
Virginia Social Work License Number: Date License Expired: (MM/DD/YYYY)
/ /

Part I1. Licensure History Information: Other than Virginia, list in order of attainment all the states in which you now hold or have ever

held a health or mental health license or certification, whether current or expired. If not applicable, enter N/A
State Type of License/Certificate | License/Certificate Number Issued Date Current Status
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Part I11. Licensure Questions: Applicant must answer the following questions. Affirmative responses to any questions on this application
will require additional information to be submitted. Please refer to for a list of required documentation that

will be needed regarding criminal convictions, past actions, or possible impairments. Failure to disclose any information related to these
questions may be grounds for denial, reprimand, or imposition of terms, suspension or revocation of your license and /or registration.

Have you ever been denied the issuance of a license, certificate, or registration, or denied the
privilege of taking an occupational licensure, certification or registration examination? If Yes, on a
separate sheet of paper please provide a full detailed explanation that includes what type of
occupational examination, where (jurisdiction), when (dates) and why denied and attach
documents referenced in Guidance Document 140-2.

|:| Yes |:| No

Have you ever been censored, warned, terminated, or requested to withdraw from your employment
with any health care facility, agency or practice? If Yes, on a separate sheet of paper please provide
a full detailed explanation.

|:| Yes |:| No

Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty to or pled Nolo Contendere to the violation of any
federal, state or other statute or ordinance constituting a felony or misdemeanor? (Including
convictions for driving under the influence, but excluding traffic violations) If Yes, on a separate
sheet of paper please provide a full detailed explanation and attach documents referenced in
Guidance Document 140-2.

|:| Yes |:| No

Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license, certification or registration while under
investigation? If Yes, on a separate sheet of paper please provide a full detailed explanation and
attach documents referenced in Guidance Document 140-2.

|:| Yes |:| No

Are you the respondent in any pending or unresolved Board action in another jurisdiction or in a
malpractice claim? If Yes, on a separate sheet of paper please provide a full detailed explanation.

Additional Questions

1.

A. Within the past five years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into
question your ability to practice in a competent and professional manner? If Yes, on a separate sheet
of paper please provide a full detailed explanation

B. Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or
behavior? If Yes, on a separate sheet of paper please provide a full detailed explanation and
attach documents referenced in Guidance Document 140-2.

|:| Yes |:| No

|:| Yes |:| No
|:| Yes |:| No

A. Within the past five years, have you been disciplined by any entity? If Yes, on a separate sheet of
paper please provide a full detailed explanation and attach documents referenced in Guidance
Document 140-2.

B. Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or
behavior? If Yes, on a separate sheet of paper please provide a full detailed explanation and
attach documents referenced in Guidance Document 140-2.

|:| Yes |:| No
|:| Yes |:| No

Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to
perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent
manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact
on your ability to function as a practicing Social Worker. If Yes, on a separate sheet of paper
please provide a full detailed explanation and attach documents referenced in Guidance
Document 140-2.

|:| Yes |:| No

Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to
perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent
manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact
on your ability to function as a practicing Social Worker. If Yes, on a separate sheet of paper
please provide a full detailed explanation and attach documents referenced in Guidance
Document 140-2.

|:| Yes |:| No

Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that
affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional
practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition
could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing Social Worker. If Yes,
on a separate sheet of paper please provide a full detailed explanation and attach documents
referenced in Guidance Document 140-2.

|:| Yes |:| No

Within the past five years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your
practice to avoid disciplinary action by any entity? If Yes, on a separate sheet of paper please
provide a full detailed explanation and attach documents referenced in Guidance Document 140-
2.

|:| Yes |:| No

Revised 03/2020 — Paper Application for Reinstatement



https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_guidelines.htm

Part IV. Military Service ‘

1. Did you relocate with a spouse who is the subject of a military transfer to the Commonwealth of [ Jves [ ]No
Virginia?
2. Are you active-duty military? |:| Yes |:| No
Part V. Continued Competenc
Have you completed the continued competency hours equal to the number of years your license has lapsed, |:| Yes |:| No
not to exceed four years?

Check the box that applies to you

LBSWs & LMSWs

[ ] I am attesting to the completion of the required Continuing Education for __ years, which total a minimum of CE hours
(7.5 hours per year). | have submitted copies of my CE hours for evaluation with this application.

LCSWs

[] I am attesting to the completion of the required Continuing Education for __ years, which total a minimum of CE hours

(15 hours per year). | have submitted copies of my CE hours for evaluation with this application.

Part VI. Certification:. This application is not valid unless properly certified by your original signature.

I certify by my signature below that | am the person applying for licensure/certificate/registration and meet the qualifications required by
Virginia laws and regulations. | certify that | have carefully read the laws and regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work in the
Commonwealth of Virginia, which are available at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/.

Further, I certify by my signature below that the information provided on this application has been personally provided and reviewed by
me, and that statements made on the application are true and complete. | understand that providing false or misleading information, as well
as omitting information, in response to information required in this application or as part of the application process is considered
falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary action against an existing
license/certificate/registration.

I agree to the above certification.

SIGNATURE: DATE:

ORIGINAL SIGNATURE REQUIRED
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APPLICANT OUT-OF-STATE LICENSURE VERIFICATION

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

This form must be completed by both the applicant and the jurisdiction/State Board that issued the applicant a health or mental health
license or certification. The Applicant should complete Part | of this form ONLY. The State Board should complete Part 11 of this
form. The completed form should be returned to the applicant for inclusion in their application packet to be mailed to the Virginia Board
of Social Work or the State Board can send the form electronically to the Virginia Board at socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT: Complete the top portion only and send this form to the jurisdiction (s)/State Board (s) that
issued you a health or mental health license or certification (fee may be required).

Part 1. Applicant’s Identification & Contact Information

Last Name: First Name: Middle/Maiden Name: Suffix:
Last 4 digit of Social Security Number: Date of Birth: (MM/DD/YYYY)

XXX-XX- Y Y
Address:
City: State: Zip Code:

Email Address:

TO BE COMPLETED BY STATE BOARD: Please provide official verification of applicant’s licensure information requested below
and mail or email completed form to applicant or directly to the Virginia Board of Social. If emailing this form to the Virginia Board,
please use the subject line: Applicant Licensure Verification (ref: Applicant’s Name)

Part I1. Applicant’s Licensure Information
Title of License: License Number:

Issue Date: (MM/DD/YYYY) Expiration Date: (MM/DD/YYYY)
/ / / /

License Obtained by:
[ ] Examination [ ] Endorsement [ ] Reciprocity [ ] Grandfathered [ ] other

Status of License:
[ ] current [ ] Lapsed [ ] Inactive [ ] other

Has license ever been denied, suspended, revoked, placed on probation or otherwise disciplined? If yes, please YES |:| NO |:|
attach certified copy of order issued by State Board.

I certify the above information to be true in every respect, according to the record on file with the

(Title of Board)

Name of Authorized Licensure Official:

Title of Authorized Licensure Official:

STATE SEAL

Telephone Number:

Email Address:

Date:
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Virginia Department of

EVIDENCE OF COMPETENCY TO PRACTICE

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

An applicant for reinstatement whose license has been lapsed for ten (10) or more years should complete the top portion of this form only,
then provide this form to the professional reference who can verify your competency to practice. The completed form containing the
original signatures, should be returned to the applicant for inclusion in their packet to be mailed to the Virginia Board of Social Work.

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT:

I, (printed legal name of applicant), hereby authorize past and present

employers, businesses, professional associates and personal references to release to the Virginia Board of Social Work (“Board”) any

information requested by the Board in connection with the processing of my application for reactivation of my Virginia license.

Signature of Applicant Date

TO BE COMPLETED BY REFERENCE:

Last Name of Reference: First Name: Middle/Maiden Name: Suffix:

Type of License Held: License Number:

Address of Reference:

City: State: Zip Code:

Phone Number: Email Address:

Relationship to Applicant:

I, (printed legal name of reference), declare under perjury under the laws of the

Commonwealth of Virginia that (printed name of applicant), candidate for

reinstatement of licensure in the Commonwealth of Virginia, was in active practice (select one option)
[ ] inanother United States jurisdiction for at least (24) out of the past (60) months immediately preceding application;
[ Jinan exempt setting for at least (24) out of the past (60) months immediately preceding application;

at (name of location)

(street address of location)

(City) (State) (Zip Code)

from (Start Date: MM/DD/YYYY) t0 (End Date: MM/DD/YYYY).

Signature of Reference Date
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