Therapy Advisory Board
Frequently Asked Questions
1. When did licensure become effective?
Regulations requiring licensure for Occupational Therapy became effective July 1, 1998.
2. How can I obtain an application for a license and how long does the process take?
You may apply online here. The average time to process an application is 6 to 8 weeks.
3. Can I practice with a temporary license until a full license is issued?
Virginia does not issue a temporary license, however, a person who has graduated from a duly accredited educational program in occupational therapy may practice with the title ”Occupational Therapist, License Applicant” or “O.T.L.-Applicant” until he has taken and received the results of any examination required by the Board or until six months from the date of graduation, whichever occurs sooner.
4. Does your state have reciprocity?
No. An applicant must meet the education and examination requirements to become licensed.
5. Does Virginia license COTA’s?
Yes, regulations for the licensure of OTA's are effective 11/1/2008.
6. My school is no longer in existence. How do I provide documentation of education?
You must provide a notarized copy of your school’s diploma and transcript and a statement that your school is no longer in existence.
7. When do I have to renew my license and how long does it take to process?
Your license must be renewed biennially during your birth month in each even-numbered year. The fee is $135.00. Licenses are updated upon receipt of fees. A current license is printed, mailed and delivered to its destination within 10 working days. If you do not receive your updated license within four weeks of payment, contact the board office.
8. What is the difference between an active and inactive license?
An active license allows practice. An inactive license does not allow practice.
9. I am applying for a license in another state that requires verification of my Virginia license. How do I verify my license to another jurisdiction?
Verification of license to another jurisdiction requires a written request to the board office. The fee is $10.00 per license number per location. The request should have the following:
- Licensee’s full name at the time they were licensed in Virginia.
- The appropriate fee.
- Either a license number or social security number, preferably both.
- The jurisdiction’s mailing address.
Please note the following:
- Verifications are processed and mailed out within 5-7 business days
Verifications are not faxed to jurisdictions.
- All verifications are mailed according to the instructions on the form. For verifications going to North Carolina and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, these verifications will be mailed back to the applicant in a sealed and signed envelope as stated on the form. Only verifications with discipline information will be mailed directly to these jurisdictions.
- We will work with you to ensure that your verifications are received by the appropriate jurisdiction. However, after three (3) months have lapsed, a new fee will be required for a reprinting of any verification not received by the requesting jurisdiction.
10. What if I have not notified you of my change of address and the renewal form was sent to the old address?
If you do not receive a notice to renew, you will need to contact the board office at 804-367-4673 for instructions to renew.
11. What if my renewal payment is not received by the deadline?
An additional fee for processing a late renewal will be imposed. The license will not be updated until the additional fee is received.
12. I have mailed my renewal form to you. When can I expect to receive my new wallet card?
A renewal certificate with the wallet card attached is generated upon receipt of the renewal fee. It should reach the address of record within 10 to 14 business days.
13. I am going out of the country for a year. Can I renew early?
A license can only be updated within 60 days prior to the expiration date. Early renewal for military deployment may be considered. Call 804-367-4673.
14. What do I have to do to notify the board of an upcoming name change?
Name changes must be submitted in writing with a copy of legal documentation of name change. Request may be faxed to 804-527-4426.
15. I have not received my renewal certificate for the current year. What do I need to do?
Contact the board office at 804-367-4673.
16. Can you fax renewal forms to me?No.
17. May I verify a license online?
Yes. Visit the License Look Up.
18. Does the Virginia Board have a newsletter?
The board publishes a Board Brief newsletter periodically. The latest Board Briefs can be found online.
19. May I renew my Virginia license online?
Yes, you are able to renew during your renewal cycle through the Online Licensing website.
20. May I change my address online?
Yes. Visit the Online Licensing site for more details.
21. If I want to file a complaint, may I obtain a complaint form online?
22. I have not practiced as an occupational therapist for 5 years. Can I still obtain a Virginia license?
If previously licensed in another jurisdiction, documentation of 160 hours (within the 24-month period immediately preceding application) of professional practice as an occupational therapist is required. Active practice may include supervisory, administrative, educational or consultative activities or responsibilities for delivery of such services. If you have not engaged in active practice, you shall serve a board-approved practice of 160 hours to be completed within 60 consecutive days, under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist.
23. What are the CE requirements for renewal?
Renewal in a current/active status requires attestation of having completed
20 contact hours of continuing learning activities to include 10 hours of
Type 1 activities offered by a sponsor or organization recognized by the
profession and may include in-service training, self-study courses, continuing
education courses, specialty certification or professional workshops and
no more than 10 hours of Type 2 activities, which may include consultation
with another therapist, independent reading or research, preparation for
a presentation, fieldwork with students, or other such experiences that
promote continued learning.