Pharmaceutical Processors - Medical Cannabis
Safe and effective COVID-19 vaccines are now available for anyone age 6 months or older. Talk to your healthcare provider or pharmacist for more information.
Registration Cards No Longer Required as of July 1, 2022
Effective July 1, 2022, HB933 removes the requirement for patients, parents, and legal guardians to register with the Board of Pharmacy. A Written Certification for the Use of Medical Cannabis from a Registered Practitioner for Medical Cannabis is still required and must be presented at the dispensary, along with a government-issued ID, to obtain medical cannabis products.
As of July 1, 2022, medical cannabis patients, parents or legal guardians are no longer required to register with the Board of Pharmacy. A Written Certification for the Use of Medical Cannabis from a Registered Practitioner for Medical Cannabis will still be required and must be presented at the dispensary, along with a government-issued ID, to obtain medical cannabis products. Showing proof of registration with the Board of Pharmacy will no longer be required.
Optional Registration Card
While the law will no longer require a patient, parent, or legal guardian to obtain registration from the Board as of July 1, 2022, an optional registration card for medical cannabis may be obtained for $50. To obtain the optional card, submit the online application, $50 application fee, copy of the Written Certification for the Use of Medical Cannabis and proof of age, identity and residency to the Board. Allow approximately 60 business days for processing a complete application. Applications submitted with incomplete information cannot be processed. Once the registration is issued, a physical medical cannabis registration card will be mailed to the patient, parent or legal guardian’s address of record on the application. The online application may be found here.
Questions may be directed to firstname.lastname@example.org
Listing of Current Registered Practitioner for Medical Cannabis. View the listing.
Request for Application
September 9, 2022 Update - Frequently Asked Questions
The Board of Pharmacy has issued the following Request for Application (RFA) to solicit applications for a permit to operate a pharmaceutical processor in Health Service Area (HSA) I. As authorized in law, the Virginia Board of Pharmacy (Board) may award conditional approval for only one pharmaceutical processor in this health service area. In order to be considered for selection, an Applicant must submit a complete Application for a Pharmaceutical Processor Permit for HSA I with required documentation and application fee in accordance with this RFA no later than December 4, 2020 at 2:00p.m. EST. Please review the RFA for specific application requirements.
Medical Cannabis Access and Registration for Patients, Parent/Legal Guardians, Registered Agents and PractitionersA patient, parent or legal guardian may possess medical cannabis, as defined in §54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia who has been issued a valid written certification from a Board of Pharmacy-registered practitioner. A registered agent, appointed by the patient, parent or legal guardian, must register with the Board of Pharmacy prior to obtaining medical cannabis for the patient.
Before a practitioner can issue or continue issuing written certifications, he or she must register with the Board of Pharmacy. Learn More about Practitioner Registration.
A patient, parent or legal guardian must have a written certification issued to them by a registered practitioner prior to obtaining medical cannabis from a permitted dispensary. If desired, a patient, parent or legal guardian may register with the Board of Pharmacy to obtain an optional physical medical cannabis card. Learn More about Patient/Parent/Guardian Registration.
A patient, or the patient’s parent or legal guardian, may chose a registered agent to receive medical cannabis on behalf of the patient. . Learn More about Registered Agent Registration.
Medical Cannabis Dispensing Locations
Pharmaceutical Processor and Medical Cannabis Dispensing Facility Locations
A pharmaceutical processor is a facility that has obtained a permit from the Board of Pharmacy pursuant to §54.1-3408.3 to cultivate Cannabis plants for the production of medical cannabis, and dispense medical cannabis products to patients that have received a written certification from a registered practitioner for treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease determined by the physician to benefit from such use. As set forth in §54.1-3442.6 of the Code of Virginia, the Board may issue or renew a maximum of 5 permits, one for each health service area established by the Board of Health. Currently, 4 pharmaceutical processors have been permitted, Dharma Pharmaceuticals, LLC in Abingdon, Columbia Care Eastern Virginia, LLC in Portsmouth, Green Leaf Medical of Virginia, Inc. in Richmond and Dalitso, LLC in Mananssas.
Additionally, the Board may issue or renew a maximum of 5 permits for cannabis dispensing facilities in each health service area. The cannabis dispensing facility must be owned in part by the pharmaceutical processor permitted in that area.