Your browser does not support JavaScript

News

Controlled Substances CE Requirements

Published on Jan 14, 2020

In response to the opioid crisis, the 2016 General Assembly passed law that requires identified licensees to complete 2 hours of continuing education each biennium on topics related to pain management, the responsible prescribing of “covered substances” and the diagnosis and management of addiction. "Covered substance" now means all controlled substances included in Schedules II, III, and IV; controlled substances included in Schedule V for which a prescription is required; naloxone; and all drugs of concern that are required to be reported to the Prescription Monitoring Program,. "Covered substance" also includes cannabis oil dispensed by a pharmaceutical processor in Virginia. By January 1 of the odd-numbered years, the Board must notify its licensees that are required to complete the 2 hours of CE prior to their next renewal. For the biennium 2021-2022, the Board determined that all licensees with prescribing authority should obtain this CE.

For 2021-2022, as in previous biennia, you can find your own 2 hours of Type 1 (CAT I) CE to satisfy the requirement, or you may use selections from the following list of resources as Type 1. Only claim the amount of time you spend on any of these resources.

Read the 2020-2021 Opioid Continuing Education package.

Back to News Index

Virginia Board of Medicine
medbd@dhp.virginia.gov | Contact the Board
William L. Harp, MD, Executive Director
L. Blanton Marchese, President