Rev. 04/18

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATEMENT OF A CHIROPRACTIC

LICENSURE APPLICATION

Chiropractic License Revised 04/18 

Reinstatement Instructions and Application for Chiropractic licenses in EXPIRED status for more than two years ONLY. 

NOTE

AN APPLICATION THAT IS NOT COMPLETE EXPIRES ONE YEAR AFTER IT IS SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD.  IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE APPLICANT TO ENSURE THAT ALL NECESSARY SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS ARRIVE AT THE BOARD PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION DATE.  IF THE ORIGINAL APPLICATION EXPIRES, THE APPLICANT MUST SUBMIT ANOTHER APPLICATION, PAY THE APPLICATION FEE AGAIN AND ENSURE THAT NEW SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS ALSO GET TO THE BOARD. 
Reinstatement occurs after the license has been expired for 2 years.  Do not complete this application if your license has been expired for less than 2 years or if you are trying to reactivate a license in inactive status.  

A completed application must be returned to this office along with the reinstatement fee of $472.00.  Applications and fees must be received together.  Only checks or money orders are accepted.  Please make your payment instrument payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia.”

Certain forms may be faxed to 804-527-4426.    The phone number to the Virginia Board of Medicine is 804-367-4600.   The Board’s email address is medbd@dhp.virginia.gov  

Mailing Address

Virginia Board of Medicine

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

Henrico, VA 23233-1463

The Board of Medicine discourages the use of the United States Postal Service to send documents.  If possible, and if noted below, you are encouraged to have your documents sent by pdf attachment or FAX.  The Board is unable to trace documents not delivered by the post office. If you wish to send your documents by overnight mail, please use FED EX or UPS.  



1    
If you answer “yes” to any of the licensure questions #6-18 provide a written explanation on a 


   

separate piece of paper and attach it to the application.  If you have disciplinary action with another 


    

Board, attach a copy of the Board Order or other documentation.  If you have medical mal 


practice claims, attach a narrative that includes dates, your treatment of the patient and any payment 


   

made per settlement or judgement.  You may also provide a letter from your attorney.  If you have


  

misdemeanor or felony convictions attach a copy of the court documents.  

         FORMCHECKBOX 
2.
Forward Form B (Activity questionnaire) to all hospitals, clinics, doctor’s offices and all other locations where you have provided professional service including locations where you only held privileges since your Virginia license expired but for no more than the past 2 years.  This form may be copied, if necessary.  This document may be faxed to the Board by the person completing it or sent via email to medbd@dhp.virginia.gov.  Closed practices or supervisors who no longer work at the location of service are not acceptable reasons for failing to have a Form B provided to the Board.   
For applicants practicing telemedicine, a Form B is only required from the chief medical officer of the company to which you are employed. To be accepted, the Form B must be signed by the CMO or medical director with a complete professional evaluation along with a list of all locations of service that can be included on a separate page. 
For applicants practicing as locum tenens physicians, have the company you are affiliated with provide a complete list of all locations and dates where you have provided service. Form B employment verifications must be received from each location of service for the past 2 years. 
Completed Form B’s may be attached as a PDF and sent to medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to (804) 527-4426 or mailed by the person completing the document. 
For further information related to completing Form B’s please review the following guidance document before contacting the Board of Medicine: Guidance on Completing Form B Employment Verifications, adopted December 1, 2017
Form B’s will not be accepted from the applicant.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
3.    Verification of Chiropractic licenses from all jurisdictions within the United States, its territories and 
possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a full license must be received by the Board.    Please contact the applicable jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to practice as a chiropractor to inquire about having documentation forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine.  Verification must come from the jurisdiction and maybe sent by email to medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to (804) 527-4426 or mailed.  
 FORMCHECKBOX 
4.      NPDB Self Query – Complete the online  Place a Self-Query Order form. Be ready to    

             provide:

o Identifying information such as name, date of birth, Social Security number

o State health care license information (if you are licensed)

o Credit or debit card information for the $4.00 fee (charged for each copy you request)

Verify your identity. This can be done electronically as part of your order or by completing a paper form and having it notarized. You will receive full instructions as you complete your order.

Wait for your response. Once your identity is verified, the NPDB will process your order. A paper copy of your response will be sent the next business day by regular U.S. mail.  

The Board does not accept emailed copies of the NPDB report. When you receive your report in the mail from NPDB  DO NOT OPEN IT. Place your unopened NPDB report in an oversized envelope and forward it to the Virginia Board of Medicine.  The Board recommends using Fed EX or UPS for tracking purposes. 
The Board of Medicine is unable to track any mail or other package that is sent via the United States Postal Service.

Any NPDB report received for an application not completed within 3 months of receipt of the NPDB report will have to be resubmitted.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
5.
Provide documentation indicating completion of continued competency hours equal to the requirement for the number of years listed below, not to exceed four years preceding reinstatement of license. Copies of certificates issued for Category I are required.  Additional information addressing continued competency requirements are described under general regulations §18VAC 85-20-235 (A)(1)&(2).   This documentation may be faxed.


License lapsed for two years – 60 hours of continuing learning activities


License lapsed for three years – 90 hours of continuing learning activities


License lapsed for four years  - 120 hours of continuing learning activities

What are "Type 1" hours?
a. Type 1 hours in chiropractic shall be clinical hours that are approved by a college or university accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education or PACE.  

 All 60 continuing competency hours each biennium may be Type 1 hours.

What are "Type 2" hours?
Type 2 hours (no more than 30 each biennium) are those earned in self-study, attending professionally related meetings, research and writing for a journal, learning a new procedure, sitting with the hospital ethics panel, etc. They are activities chosen by the practitioner based on assessment of his/her practice. They do not have to be sponsored by an accrediting organization, but must be recorded by the practitioner on the form provided by the Board.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
6.
Copies of documentation supporting any name change since your initial licensure in Virginia.

Please note:

*Please be aware that consistent with Virginia law and the mission of the Department of Health Professions, public addresses on file with the Board of Medicine are made available to the public.  The Board address noted on your application may be different from the public address and is not released to the public.  This notice is to reiterate that the Board of Medicine will allow the Board address of record to be a Post Office Box or practice location.  

*Applications will be acknowledged after receipt if items are missing.  

*Applications not completed within 12 months may be purged without notice from the board. 

*Additional information may be requested after review by Board representatives.

*Application fees are non-refundable.

* Do not begin practice until you have been notified of approval.  Submission of an application does not guarantee   a license.  A review of your application could result in the finding that you may not be eligible pursuant to Virginia   laws and regulations.  
*Certain forms may be faxed to 804-527-4426.  
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Board of Medicine

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
Email:

Phone: (804) 367-4600
Fax: (804) 527-4426





Application for REINSTATEMENT of License to Practice as a Chiropractor  
To the Board of Medicine of Virginia:

I hereby make application for reinstatement of my license to practice as a Chiropractor in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and submit the following statements:

1. Name in Full (Please Print or Type)

	Last
	First
	Middle



	Date of Birth

______     _____    _____

MO            DAY      YEAR
	Social Security No. or VA Control No.*
	Maiden Name if applicable

	Public Address:   This address will be public information:


	House No. Street or PO Box
	City State and Zip

	Board Address:  This address will be used for Board Correspondence and may be the same or different from the public address.


	House No. Street or PO Box
	City State and Zip

	Work Phone Number
	Home/Cell Phone Number
	Email Address




Please submit address changes in writing immediately to medbd@dhp.virginia.gov
Please attach check or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia for $472.00.  Application will not be processed without the fee.  Do not submit fee without an application.  IT WILL BE RETURNED.
APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
APPROVED BY _______________________________________________________________________________________________

                      


                                                                                                      Date

	LICENSE NUMBER

0104-
	PROCESSING NUMBER
	FEE

$472
	EXPIRATION DATE
	REINSTATEMENT DATE 




*In accordance with (54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number** issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law.  Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other state agencies for child support enforcement activities.  NO LICENSE WILL BE ISSUED TO ANY INDIVIDUAL WHO HAS FAILED TO DISCLOSE ONE OF THESE NUMBERS.

**In order to obtain a Virginia driver’s license control number, it is necessary to appear in person at an office of the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia.  A fee and disclosure to DMV of your Social Security Number will be required to obtain this number.

2.  
List in chronological order all professional practices since the expiration date of your Virginia license including any periods



of non-professional activities or employment for more than three months.  Please account for all time.  If engaged in private


practice, list all clinical affiliations.  If none, please explain. CVs may be attached but does not substitute for completion of


 this page.

	From
	To
	Name and Location
	Position Held

	_______________
	_______________
	___________________________________
	______________

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	
	

	_______________
	_______________
	___________________________________
	______________

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	
	

	_______________
	_______________
	___________________________________
	______________

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	
	

	_______________
	_______________
	___________________________________
	______________

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	
	

	_______________
	_______________
	___________________________________
	______________

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	
	

	_______________
	_______________
	___________________________________
	______________

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	
	

	_______________
	_______________
	___________________________________
	______________

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	
	

	_______________
	_______________
	___________________________________
	______________

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	
	

	_______________
	_______________
	___________________________________
	______________

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	
	

	_______________
	_______________
	___________________________________
	______________

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	___________________________________
	

	
	
	
	


3.
Do you intend to engage in the active practice of chiropractic in the Commonwealth of Virginia?       FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes     FORMCHECKBOX 
 No
 


If Yes, give location ___________________________________________________________________________
4.
List all jurisdictions in which you have been issued a license to practice chiropractic: active, inactive, expired, suspended or revoked  
      Indicate number and date issued. 

	                 Jurisdiction
	           Number Issued
	           Active/Inactive/Expired

	
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	




    Yes     No


	5.
	Are you certified by the National Chiropractic Examiners?
QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If any of the following questions (6-18) is answered Yes, explain and substantiate with documentation.  


	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

 FORMCHECKBOX 


	6.
	Have you ever been denied a license or the privilege of taking a licensure/competency examination by any 

testing entity or licensing authority? 


	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

 FORMCHECKBOX 


	7.
	Have you ever been convicted of a violation of/or pled Nolo Contendere to any federal, state, or local statute,
or regulation or ordinance, or entered into an plea bargaining relating to a felony or misdemeanor?  (Excluding 

traffic violations, except convictions for driving under the influence.) 


	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

 FORMCHECKBOX 


	8.
	Have you ever been denied privileges or voluntarily surrendered your clinical privileges for any reason? 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

 FORMCHECKBOX 


	9.
	Have you ever been placed on a corrective action plan, placed on probation or been dismissed or suspended or
Requested to withdraw from any professional school, training program, hospital, etc?

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

 FORMCHECKBOX 


	10.
	Have you ever been terminated from employment or resigned in lieu of termination from any training program, 

hospital, healthcare facility, healthcare provider, provider network or malpractice insurance carrier?          

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

 FORMCHECKBOX 


	11.
	Do you have any pending disciplinary actions against your professional license/certification/permit/registration
related to your practice of chiropractic medicine? 


	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

 FORMCHECKBOX 


	12.
	Have you voluntarily withdrawn from any professional society while under investigation? 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

 FORMCHECKBOX 


	13.

14.  
	Within the past five years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question your ability to 

practice in a competent and professional manner? 

Within the past five years, have you been disciplined by any entity? 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	

	15.
	Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of the

Obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner?  “Currently” means 
recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing 

chiropractor.  
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 



  16.     Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of                  FORMCHECKBOX 
      FORMCHECKBOX 


     the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner?  “Currently” means 


     recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing 

            chiropractor. 

   17.    Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that affects or limits                    FORMCHECKBOX 
      FORMCHECKBOX 

            your ability to perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent

            manner?  “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability 

            to function as a practicing chiropractor. 


   18.    Within the past 5 years, have you any condition or restrictions been imposed upon you or your practice to avoid                     FORMCHECKBOX 
     FORMCHECKBOX 

            disciplinary  action by any entity? 

Military Service: 

    19.    Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to leave                    FORMCHECKBOX 
      FORMCHECKBOX 

             employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia? 
    20.   Are you active duty military? 

 FORMCHECKBOX 
       FORMCHECKBOX 

       

21. AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT


I, ______________________________________________________, am the person referred to in the foregoing
 application and supporting documents.


I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions, or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past

and present), business and professional associates (past and present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities

(local, state, federal, or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Medicine any information, files or records requested by the

Board in connection with the processing of individuals and groups listed above, any information which is material to me and 

my application.


I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations

of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. 

Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial, 

suspension, or revocation of my license to practice Chiropractic in the Commonwealth of Virginia.


I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of my profession which are available

at www.dhp.virginia.gov and I understand that fees submitted as part of the application process shall not be refunded.








                    _________________________________________________











       Signature of Applicant





