COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS

BOARD OF NURSING

9960 MAYLAND DRIVE, SUITE 300
HENRICO, VIRGINIA  23233-1463
(804) 367-4515        (804) 527-4455– FAX        

www.dhp.virginia.gov
INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT
AS A MEDICATION AIDE
FILING AN APPLICATION IF REGISTRATION HAS BEEN LAPSED FOR MORE THAN ONE YEAR FROM LAST RENEWAL DATE
A. Complete the application for REINSTATEMENT in blue or black ink, include the required fee, a

 recent passport-type photograph, SIGNED ON THE FRONT, required notarization and return it

 to the VIRGINIA BOARD OF NURSING.

B. Submit payment of $90 with the reinstatement application.  A check or money order made payable

to the “Treasurer of Virginia” must accompany this application. This application fee is non- refundable.

C. 
In addition, please submit:

--Evidence of completion of all required continuing education for the period since your last renewal (4-hour population specific medication aide in-service for each year in which it has lapsed or an 8-hour refresher course);
--Attestation that there are no grounds for denial of registration.

D. When your reinstatement application and supporting documents have been approved, you will then be sent information on retaking the written and practical competence evaluation, which successful passage will complete the reinstatement process for your medication aide registration as long as it has been taken within one year of receipt of the reinstatement application and fee.

**
In accordance with §54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your Control Number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided for by law.  Federal and State law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities.

Effective 7/6/11
