COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK

Department of Health Professions
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
(804) 367-4441
Website - http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social

RENEWAL FAQS
NEXT RENEWAL DATE FOR ALL SOCIAL WORK LICENSES: June 30, 2017

| am an active duty service person or spouse and am deployed outside the U.S. Can | request an extension for
renewal?

Yes, Virginia law allows active duty service people or their spouses who are deployed outside the U.S. to have an
extension of time for any requirement or fee pertaining to renewal until 60 days after the person’s return from
deployment. The extension cannot last beyond 5 years past the expiration date for the license. For more
information, please read the attached policy and contact the applicable board for your license.

How do | renew my license?

The Board mails renewal notices which contain a PIN number by the USPS to your address of record (Confidential
Mailing Address) on file with the Board 45-60 days in advance of the June 30 expiration date. You should renew your
license Online or return the renewal request by mail to Virginia Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300,
Richmond, VA 23233, no later than June 30, 2017 to avoid a late fee. Checks or money orders must be payable to the
Treasurer of Virginia.

How do I notify the board office of an address change and/or name change?

You must submit a name and/or address change in writing using the Name/Address Change Form on the Applications
and Forms page. Address changes may also be made online through the Online Licensing website.

All name changes must be accompanied by a marriage license, divorce decree, or court order.

Any change in the address of record or the public address, if different from the address of record, shall be furnished
to the board within 30 days of such change in accordance with the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work.

What is the fee to renew my license?

The Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) renewal fee is $125.00 and the Licensed Social Worker (LSW) renewal fee
is $110.00. Both fees can be paid by check or money order made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia.”

What is the late fee if my renewal is not received by the deadline?

A $10.00 late fee will be assessed to your license if payment is not received by June 30, 2017.


http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dhp_guidelines/76-1.12.pdf
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/mylicense/renewalintro.asp
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm%23misc
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm%23misc
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/mylicense/renewalintro.asp

Is there a “grace period” if | do not renew my social work license by the 30th of June of the renewal year?
No.
Can | renew early?

A license can only be updated within 60 days prior to the expiration date. Early renewal for military deployment may
be considered by calling (804) 367-4441.

How long will it take to receive my renewed license once the fee has been received?

Licenses are updated upon receipt of fees. A current license is printed, mailed and delivered to its destination within
10 business days. If you do not receive your updated license within four weeks of payment, contact the Board office.

What if | didn’t receive my renewal notice?

You should contact the Board office at (804) 367-4441 by June 1, 2017 if you have not received your renewal notice
by mail.

If my licensure status is “inactive,” do | have to renew?

Yes, in order to keep your license in “inactive” status, you should renew your license by the deadline. No person shall
practice social work or clinical social work in Virginia unless he holds a current active license. A licensee who has
placed himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set forth in 18VAC140-
20-110 of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work.

How many hours of continuing education are required for renewal?

LCSWs are required to have completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing education and LSW are required
to have completed a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing education. A minimum of two of those hours must
pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws governing the practice
of social work in Virginia. Please refer to 18 VAC 140-20-105 of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social
Work on the Laws and Regulations page for information on acceptable content, approved sponsors and required
documentation.

How do | know if my CEs are approved before | complete the activity?

Please refer to 18VAC140-20-105 of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work for the requirements of
continued education (CE) on the Laws and Regulations page. Please be aware that Board staff cannot pre-approve

any CE courses. Each licensee shall use their best and professional judgment to determine if the course meets the

requirements outlined in the regulations.

How many continuing education (“CE”) hours can be on-line or in person?

There is no restriction on the number of hours that may be obtained on-line or in person.

May I carry over hours of continuing education (“CE”) for the next renewal period?

No. For the 2017 renewal period, continuing education must be completed between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2017.


http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_laws_regs.htm
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_laws_regs.htm

Do | need to submit my CE documentation to the Board for renewal?

No, you must maintain this information in your records for a period of five years following renewal. The Board
conducts a random audit of licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period. If selected,
you would be notified by mail that documentation is required and given a time frame within which to comply.

What are "Category I" hours?

Category | hours are Formally Organized Learning Activities that can be documented by an approved sponsor or
organization. If the sponsoring organization does not award a participant with a dated certificate indicating the
activity or course taken and the number of hours earned, the social worker is responsible for obtaining a letter on
organizational letterhead verifying the hours and activity. LCSW's are required to complete a minimum of 20
Category | hours per renewal period; LSW's must complete a minimum of 10 Category | hours per renewal period. All
continuing education obtained for renewal may be Category I.

What are "Category II" hours?

Category Il hours (no more than 10 hours each biennium for LCSW's and no more than 5 hours for LSW's) are
Individual Professional Activities earned in self-study, attending formal staffings, publication of a professional social
work-related article or chapter of a book, independent or group study including listening to audio tapes, viewing
video tapes, reading, professional books or articles, etc. They are activities chosen by the social worker based on
assessment of his/her practice. They do not have to be sponsored by an approved organization but must be
documented by the social worker in the manner prescribed by the Regulations.

How do | request inactive licensure?

Any LSW or LCSW who holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia may change to inactive status by completing
the Inactive License Request Form (if the board is not in a renewal period), or by selecting this option on the bi-
annual renewal notice and paying the inactive renewal fee. The option to change your license from active to inactive
is not available online. Please contact the board office at (804) 367-4441 with any questions.

What is the difference between active and inactive license, and what are my options to renew my license?

An active license allows practice. An inactive license does not allow practice. You may renew in an active status,
inactive status or allow your license to expire.

What if | am newly licensed? Do | have to obtain CE hours before my first renewal?

No. Newly licensed individuals are not required to document continuing education on the first renewal date following
initial licensure; however you are required to renew your license by the June 30, 2017 deadline.
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