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Direct Access

The Board was mandated
by the 2006 General As-
sembly to establish regula-
tions for “direct access”.
This bill removes the re-
ferral and  supervision
requirements for the prac-
tice of physical therapy
except in specific in-
stances, such as during
invasive procedures. The
bill also restricts the prac-
tice of "physical therapy"
to those licensed by the
Board of Physical Thet-

apy. The regulations for

“direct access” have been
approved and are effec-
tive November 1, 2007;
however, the law does not
go into effect until April
29, 2008.

You may obtain a copy of
the regulations online at
www.dhp.virginia.gov
The regulations stipulate
an applicant for certifica-
tion to provide services to
patients without a referral
shall hold an active, unre-
stricted license as a physi-
cal therapist in Virginia
and shall submit evidence
satisfactory to the board,
that he has one of the
following qualifications:
(1.) Completion of a doc-
tor of physical therapy
program approved by the
American Physical Ther-
apy Association;

or

(2.) Completion of a tran-
sitional program in physi-

cal therapy as recognized
by the board;

or

(3.) At least three years of
post-licensure, active prac-
tice with evidence of 15
contact hours of continu-
ing education in medical
screening or differential
diagnosis, including pas-
sage of a post-course ex-
amination.

The required continuing
education shall be offered
by a provider or sponsor
listed as approved by the
board in the Virginia Board
of Physical Therapy regula-
tions and may be face-to-
face or on-line education
courses. If you would like
to apply for the certifica-
tion you may download the
application and checklist
from our website and be-
gin applying after Novem-
ber 1, 2007. The effective
date of the certification will
be April 29, 2008.

Practicing with an Expired License

Remember it is unlawful
to practice as a physical
therapist or physical thera-
pist assistant in Virginia
unless you hold a current/
active license. The holder
of an inactive license or
expired license is not enti-
tled to perform any act
requiring  a license to
practice physical therapy
in Virginia. A physical
therapist or physical thera-
pist assistant who holds an
inactive license may reacti-
vate the license by paying
the difference between the
renewal fee for an inactive
license and that of an ac-

tive license for the bien-
nium in which the license
is being reactivated and
provide proof of active
practice hours in another
jurisdiction equal to those
required for renewal of an
active license in Virginia.

If the inactive licensee does
not meet the requirement
for active practice hours
the licensee may reactivate
the license by completing a
480-hour traineeship under
a Virginia licensed physical
therapist. A physical thera-
pist or physical therapist
assistant whose license
expited may renew the

license by paying the late
fee along with the renewal
fee. A physical therapist
or physical therapist assis-
tant  seeking reinstate-
ment shall verify active
practice of at least 320
hours within the four
years immediately preced-
ing applying for reinstate-
ment ot successfully com-
plete a 480-hour trainee-
ship under and complete
the number of continuing
competency hours re-
quired for the renewal
period in which the li-
cense has been expired,
not to exceed 60 contact
hours.

VOLUME 1, ISSUE 1

BOARD MEMBERS:

George Maihafer, PhD, PT
Chair

Damien W. Howell, PT
Vice Chair

Peggy H. Belmont, PT
Maureen E. Lyons, PT
Robert 1zzo, PT

J.R. Locke

Lorraine C. Quinn, PTA

BOARD STAFF:

Lisa R. Hahn

Executive Director

Annie B. Artis
Licensure Operations Manager

Rashaun K. Minor
Discipline Operations Manager

ShaRon Clanton
Administrative Assistant

Denise Christian
Administrative Assistant

INSIDE THIS ISSUE

N

Board Regulations

Continned Edncation 2
Board Meetings
Disciplinary Actions
How 1o file a Complaint

HPIP

A W W W N

Licensure Renewal

Ask the Board

N



“LOOK AT WHAT

THE BOARD IS

DOING”

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

PAGE 2

Board Regulations

The Board of Physical Therapy is
just beginning a regulatory review
process. The Board will consider
changes to its current regulations.
A few proposed revisions are
adding new definitions, revising
current definitions,
the
American trained applicants and

amending

requirements for non-

traineeships, amending the re-

quirements for licensute by ex-

amination and by endorse-
ment for American trained
applicants, rein-

statement requirements, inac-

amending

tive licensure, and the general
responsibilities for physical
therapists. A significant addi-
tion to the regulations are
requirements for patient re-
and

cords, confidentiality

practitioner-patient communi-

cation, practitioner responsi-
bility, and advertising ethics.
The Board reviews it regula-
tions at least every two yeats
to ensure that the regulations
are current with changes in
the profession and with the
needs of the population it
serves. We invite you to par-
ticipate in the regulatory re-

view process.

Continued Competency Requirements

The Board of Physical Therapy
regulations state in order to renew
an active license biennially a
physical therapist or a physical
therapist assistant must complete
at least 30 contact hours of con-
tinuing learning activities within
two years immediately preceding
renewal. In choosing continuing
learning activities or courses, the
licensee must consider the follow-
ing: (i) the need to promote ethi-
cal practice, (ii) an appropriate
standard of care, (ili) patient
safety, (iv) application of new
medical technology, (v) appropti-
ate communication with patients,
and (vi) knowledge of the chang-
ing health care system. A mini-
mum of 15 contact hours are re-
quired for physical therapists and

10 of the contact hours are
required for physical therapist
assistants must be in Type 1
course; for the purpose of this
section ‘“course” means an
organized program of study,
classroom experience or simi-
lar educational experience that
is directly related to the clinical
practice of physical therapy.
No more than 15 of the con-
tact hours required for physi-
cal therapists and 20 of the
contact hours required for
physical therapist assistants
may be in Type 2 activities or
courses. “Type 1” means face-
to-face continuing activities
offered by an approved or-
ganization. “Type 2” means
continuing learning activities

Upcoming Board Meetings

The Board of Physical Therapy
convenes to discuss general
business matters including con-
sideration of regulatory issues
as may be presented on the
agenda. All meetings, including
committee meetings are open to
the public; however, a portion
of the Board's business may be
discussed in Closed Session.
Public comment is usually
heard at the beginning of the
each meeting. Persons desiring

to participate in the meeting
and requiring special accom-
modations or interpretive ser-
vices should contact the De-
partment 804-367-4674 at least
10 days prior to this meeting so
that suitable arrangements can
be made for an appropriate
accommodation. The Depart-
ment fully complies with the
Americans  with Disabilities
Act. If you are considering
attending any of the Board’s

Date Time Type
February 15, 2008 9:00 am Board Meeting
April 25, 2008 9:00 am Board Meeting

which may or may not be of-
fered by an approved organiza-
tion but must be activities con-
sidered by the learner to be
beneficial to practice or to con-
tinuing learning. Approved
providers are list in the regula-
tion 18VAC 112-20-131. The
license must retain continuing
competency  hours with all
supporting documentation for a
period of four years following
the renewal of an active license.
The licensee that is selected in a
random audit must provide the
completed Continued Compe-
tency Activity & Assessment
Form provided by the board
and copies of hours within 30
days of receiving notification of
the audit.

meetings please call the board
office at 804-367-4674 at least
one to two business days prior
to the meeting to ensure there
have not been any changes to
the date, time, or location of the
meeting.

Meetings are also posted on the
Town Hall’s website at

www.townhall.virginia.gov

Location
DHP
DHP
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Disciplinary Actions

The following list contains decisions for all proceedings conducted from 07/01/2004 through
07/01/2007. Y ou may access these decisions at www.dhp.virginia.gov (select “License Lookup”).

pha

Respondent Order Entered Action

MEADOR, PTA, Carrie Leigh 09/09/2004 Terms Imposed

PATEL, PTA, Shrikant Lalgji 10/08/2004 Reprimand

MANTZ, PT, Cynthia Joan 12/06/2004 Summary Suspension

GASSLER REAMS, PT, Amy Karen 02/08/2005 Monetary Penalty/ Reprimand/
Terms Imposed

WALER, PTA, TessaMarie 09/13/2005 Reinstatement Granted/Terms

COPLEY, PTA, James Thomas 09/13/2005 License Granted

BOWERS, PTA Joseph Martin 01/23/2006 Reprimand/Terms I mposed

FLOREK, PT, Dawn Michele 02/10/2006 Terms Imposed

WEBRIGHT, PT, William George 03/24/2006 Suspension/Dishonored Pmt

MEADOR, PTA, Carrie Leigh 03/24/2006 Terms Terminated

PALANISWAMY, PT, Vijayakumar 07/26/2006 Mandatory Suspension

BARTLEY, PT, Amy Elizabeth 08/18/2006 License Granted/Probation

SHARPE, PT, John Wayne 10/19/2006 Reprimand

SWEENEY, PT SheilaMary 03/30/2007 Suspension

LUK, PT, Samson Chung Sang 04/04/2007 Mandatory Suspension

HOGAN, PT, Michael Patrick 05/02/2007 Suspension/ Renewal Denied

COOK, PTA, Tonya Reneé 06/26/2007 Probation/Terms Imposed

How to file a Complaint

The Department of Health Professions receives complaints about healthcare practitioners who may
have violated a regulation or law. Complaints for all the licensing and regulatory Boards under the
Department’s jurisdiction are received and processed by the Enforcement Division. Complaints may
be submitted in writing, by telephone, fax, e-mail, in person, or anonymously.

Department of Health Professions Telephone: 1-800-533-1560
Perimeter Center 804-367-4612
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 804-367-4560
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1463 804-367-4691
E-mail: enfcomplaints@dhp.virginia.gov Facsimile: 804-527-4424

Health Practitioners’ Invention Program

If any health care practitio-  Virginia Health Practitio- Health Professions.

ner has concerns about an ners Intervention Program  Ms. Peggy Wood, Intervention
impairment affecting him- 700 East Franklin Street Program Manager

self or hersalf or another Suite 300 Tower 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

Richmond, Virginia 23219 Richmond, Virginia 23233
804-828-1551 or Toll freeat  804-367-4418 or by email at
866-206-4747 Peggy.Wood@dhp.virginia.gov
Copies of the statutes and

regul ations governing the

Health Practitioners Pro-

gram are available from the

Virginia Department of

practitioner and would like
information concerning the
VirginiaHeath Practitio-
ners Intervention Program
(HPIP), contact may be
made with the program as
listed:




VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS

Board of Physical Therapy
Perimeter Center

9960 Mayland Drive

Suite 300

Richmond, Virginia 23233-1463

Phone: 804-367-4674
Fax: 804-527-4413
E-mail: PT Board@dhp.virginia.gov

Licensure Renewal

Licensees have the option of
renewing online at
www.dhp.virginia.gov. To ac-
cess this feature you must have
a PIN number, which is pro-
vided in the renewal notice; for
security reasons PIN numbers
are not issued over the phone.
If you have lost your PIN num-
ber you may request a new tem-
porary PIN at
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/
mylicense/requestpass.htm

You will need to complete all of
the sections on the webpage
and hit Submit Request. A new
temporary PIN number will be
sent to the address of record by
U.S. postal mail. You should
allow 7 to 10 business days for
receipt of the new temporary

Ask the Board

Q: Must I be present in order
to provide direct supervi-

sion ?

A. The Virginia Board of
Physical Therapy regulations
defines direct supervision a

physical therapist or a physical thera-
pist assistant is physically present and
immediately available and is fully
responsible for the physical therapy
tasks or activities being

Q: How do I know if a pro-
vider is approved by the
Board for my continued
competency requirements?

A. Regulation 18 VAC 112-20-
131.
ments for renewal of an active license
of the Virginia Board of Physi-

Continued competency require-

cal Therapy regulation list the
approve providers.

Q: Is DHP exempted from
HIPPA and what happens if
I don’t comply with a DHP
request?

A. Yes, should a representa-

PIN number. If you believe
that your address of record is
incorrect please contact the
board office to update our
records. All address changes
must be in writing, you may
e-mail your address change to
PTBoard@dhp.virginia.gov
or fax to 804-527-4413, or
you mail the change to the
board’s address.

The Department of Health
Professions will mail a re-
newal notice to the licensee
outlining the procedures for
renewal.

Failure to receive the renewal
notice, however, shall not
relieve the licensee of the
obligation to renew the li-
cense and maintain the re-

tive of DHP request records,
DHP is covered under Federal
law 45CFR§164.512(d); DHP is
a health oversight agency under
HIPAA. Any entity subject to
HIPAA may disclose protected
health information to DHP for
oversight responsibilities au-
thorized by law or otherwise
necessaty for approptiate over-
sight of the health care system.

In accordance with the Code of
Virginia section 54.1-111(9)
non-compliance with a request
from DHP for records is a mis-
demeanor and may result in
disciplinary actions from the
Board. 9. Refusing to process a
request, tendered in accordance with
the regulations of the relevant bealth
regulatory board or applicable statu-
tory law, for patient records or pre-
scription dispensing records after the
closing of a business or professional
practice or the transfer of ownership of
a business or professional practice.
Any person who willfully engages in
any unlawful act enumerated in this
section shall be guilty of a Class 1

quired continuing education
hours.

If a license holder fails to re-
ceive the renewal notice, a
copy of the old license may be
submitted as evidence of in-
tent to renew, along with a
statement indicating compli-
ance with the required con-
tinuing education hours in
addition to with the required
renewal fee.

misdemeanor.

Q: How do I place my li-

cense on inactive status?

A. A physical therapist or
physical therapist assistant
must hold a current, unte-
stricted license in order to
place the license on inactive
status. Upon request from the
licensee on the renewal appli-
cation and submission of the
required renewal a physical
therapist or physical therapist
assistant may be issued an
inactive license. The licensee
of an inactive license is not
required to meet the active
practice requirements and is
not entitled to perform any
acts requiring a license to prac-
tice physical therapy in Vir-
ginia.
tion 18

Please refer to regula-
VAC 112-20-
135.Inactive license for more
information.



