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9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Henrico, Virginia  23233 

(804) 367-4538 (Tel) 
(804) 698-4266 (eFax) 

denbd@dhp.virginia.gov 
www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REACTIVATION OF DENTAL LICENSE 
 

A completed application shall include the following, unless otherwise stated below. An incomplete application and/or fee will 
delay the processing of your application.  Incomplete applications remain active for one year from the date of receipt.  After 
one year from date of receipt, you would need to reapply for Virginia licensure.  Documents submitted with an application 
are the property of the Board of Dentistry and cannot be returned. 

 
____ 1. Application:  Please be sure that all information and questions are completed on the application.  

 
____ 2. Application Fee:  The fee to reactivate a dental license is $285, which must be paid with a check or money 

order, made payable to The Treasurer of Virginia. The fee can be used for one year from date of receipt.  
Pursuant to 18VAC60-21-40(G) all fees are non-refundable.  Your application will not be reviewed until you 
have submitted your payment. 
 

____ 3. Continuing Education:  You must submit documentation of having completed 15 hours of continuing education 
(CE) for each year the license was lapsed, up to a total of 45 hours in the 36 months immediately preceding the 
application for reactivation. Course sponsors and content must meet the requirement in 18VAC60-21-250 of 
the Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry.  Of the required hours, at least 15 must be earned in the 
most recent 12 months immediately preceding your application and the remainder within the 36 months 
immediately preceding the application.  Original documents or copies are accepted. 
 
For example, the 36 months period immediately preceding an application received on October 8, 2019 began 
on October 9, 2016.  The three calendar years for this example application are: 
 

First year: October 9, 2016 to October 8, 2017 
Second year: October 9, 2017 to October 8, 2018 
Third year:  October 9, 2018 to October 8, 2019 

 
Submitted CE documentation must include the following: 
 

 Your name 

 Name of course completed 

 If the subject matter of the course is not evident in the title, 
you must also submit the sponsor’s course description. 

 Date(s) in which you completed the course 

 Name of the course sponsor; and 

 The number of CE credit hours earned 
 

____ 4. NPDB:  An original current report, not older than 6 months from date prepared, must be obtained by Self Query 
from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB), which may be requested through their website at 
www.npdb.hrsa.gov. There is a fee for this report.  This report from NPDB is required from all applicants, 
without exception (Regulation 18VAC60-21-190.3). (Must be mailed & received at the Board in its original 
sealed envelope.) 
 

____ 5. Please be aware that your signed application affidavit authorizes the release of confidential information, affirms 
that your application is complete and correct, and attests that you have read and understand and will remain 
current with the laws and regulations governing the practice of dentistry in Virginia.  Review the laws and 
regulations via the “Laws and Regulations” tab at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry. 
 

____ 6. Form C License Verification:  Original licensure status and certification from every jurisdiction in which you 
currently hold or have ever held a license/registration/certification to practice as a dentist or as another health 
care professional. Copies of permits are not accepted. Certifications cannot be older than 6 months from date 
prepared. (May be mailed to the Board or emailed to the Board directly from the issuing state official 
representative.) 

mailto:denbd@dhp.virginia.gov
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____ 
 

7. 
 

Name Change:  Documentation must be provided to show each name change, if your name has ever been 
changed since graduation from a CODA or CDAC accredited program or were licensed in other jurisdictions or 
other than what is listed on your application. Photocopies of marriage licenses or court orders are accepted. 
(May be mailed, faxed or emailed to the Board.) 
 

____ 8. Address of Record and Publically Disclosable Address:  Consistent with Virginia law §54.1.2400.02 and 
the mission of the Department of Health Professions, addresses of licensees are made available to the public.  
Normally, the Address of Record is the publically disclosable address. If you do not want your Address of Record 
to be made public, state law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable address. Typically, this other 
address is the work or practice address. If you would like for your Address of Record to be made available to 
the public, complete both sections with the same address. 

 
Notes:  

 
• To qualify for reactivation of an inactive license, the applicant must include documentation in the application 

sufficient to demonstrate continuing competence.  Continuing education hours and evidence of active 
practice in another state or in federal service, recent passage of a clinical competency examination, a refresher 
program offered by a program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association or current certification by a professional credentialing board are considered in determining 
continuing competence.  The optional employment verification form on page 7 may be used to document 
active practice.  Completion of only home study, journal or internet courses is generally not sufficient to 
demonstrate continuing competence.   
 

• If your Virginia License is not reactivated within six months of the Board’s receipt of parts of the application, certain 
portions of the application may need to be resubmitted before your application can be reviewed.  
 

• To receive notice that your application has been delivered to the Board, it is suggested that the documents be mailed 
by “Certified Mail-Return Receipt Requested” or with “Delivery Confirmation”. 

 
• Applicants will be notified of missing application items within approximately 15 business days of receipt of an 

application.  Once your application is complete, allow 30 business days processing time.  
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APPLICATION FOR REACTIVATION OF DENTAL LICENSE Page 1 
 

INSTRUCTIONS:  Type or print clearly.  Complete all sections.  If the space provided for any answer is insufficient, complete 
your answer on a separate page, specify the number of the question to which it relates, sign the page and enclose it with 

the application.   
 

I.  GENERAL INFORMATION:  COMPLETE ALL SECTIONS (PRINT OR TYPE) 

Name: Last* First Middle/Maiden Suffix 
 
 

Address of Record (Mailing Address) 
 
 
 

City State Zip Code Telephone Number 
 
 

Publically Disclosable Address 
 
 
 

City State Zip Code Telephone Number 
 
 

E-Mail Address Fax # 
 

Date of Birth 
 

_____________/_________/_______________ 

       Month            Day                Year 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number on 
record** 
 

____ ___ ____--____ ____---____ ____ ____ ____ 
 

Virginia License Number Date Inactive Status Taken Date of Last Active Practice 

Name at Time of Original Licensure (Last, First, Maiden) 

 

 

*Name change: Documentation must be provided to show name change(s) if name has ever been changed from the time you 
were licensed in Virginia or other jurisdictions.  

 
**In accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control 
number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be 
suspended and fees will not be refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification 
and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law.  Federal and state law requires that this number be 
shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
Fee Amount Approved Date License Reactivated License Number 
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REACTIVATION OF DENTAL LICENSE Application Page 2 
 

II.  APPLICANT HISTORY:  ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED. 
If any of the following questions are answered “YES”, explain and substantiate with documentation.  Letters must 
be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits.  Letters must be submitted by any treating professionals 
regarding health treatment and shall include diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. 
 

1. 
 

Are you relocating to Virginia or an adjoining state or the District of Columbia with a spouse who is 1) on federal 
active duty orders, or 2) a veteran who has left active duty service within one year of submission of this 
application?  If “YES”, include a copy of the official military orders with the application. 

 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 

2. Are you active-duty military?  If “YES”, include a copy of your official military orders with the application. [  ] Yes  [  ] No 

Additional licensure questions: 

1. A. Within the past five years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question your 
ability to practice in a competent and professional manner? If “YES”, please provide a full explanation.  

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 
 

 B. Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or behavior?  
If “YES”, please provide a full explanation.  

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 
 

2. A. Within the past five years, have you been disciplined by any entity?  If “YES”, please provide a full explanation 
and any associated orders or letters from the entity. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 
 

 B. Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or behavior? 
If “YES”, Please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters.  

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 
 

3. Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of the 
obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner?  
 
“Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to 
function as a practicing dental assistant II.  If “YES”, please provide a full explanation.  NOTE:  The Board may 

request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely 
practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this 
documentation directly to the Board. 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 

4. Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any 
of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner?  
 
“Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to 
function as a practicing dental assistant II.  If “YES”, please provide a full explanation.  NOTE:  The Board may 

request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely 
practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this 
documentation directly to the Board. 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 
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5. 
 

Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that affects or limits 
your ability to perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent 
manner?  
 
“Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to 
function as a practicing dental assistant II.  If “YES”, please provide a full explanation.  NOTE:  The Board may 

request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely 
practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this 
documentation directly to the Board. 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 
 

6. Within the past 5 years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your practice to avoid 
disciplinary action by any entity? 
 
If “YES”, please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity.  NOTE:  The 

Board may request a copy of a current participation contract and summary of compliance and/or documentation 
of successful completion.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have the 
program send this documentation directly to the Board. 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

[  ] Yes  [  ] No 
 

 

 

VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT 

 
I hereby certify that I am the person referred to in the forgoing application and the attached supporting documents and 
that the information on this application and in the attachments is true, complete, and correct to the best of my knowledge. 
 

I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past and 
present) business and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, 
state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Dentistry any information, files or records requested by the Board 
which is material to me and my application. 
  
I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations of 
any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me in the application and 
supporting documents are true and correct.  Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such 
act shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension, or revocation of my license to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
 
I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.  I hereby agree 
to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are available on 
www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry, and 
 
I have attached a check or money order in the amount of $___________ made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  I fully 
understand that funds submitted as part of the application shall not be refunded. 
 

____________________________________________                                    _______________________________ 
Applicant Signature                            Date 
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9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Henrico, Virginia  23233 

(804) 367-4538 (Tel) 
(804) 698-4266 (eFax) 

denbd@dhp.virginia.gov 
www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry 

 

VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES 
Complete all information and include all required supporting documents. 

 
NAME OF LICENSEE ___________________________       LICENSE NUMBER ________________________ 

 
Pursuant to 18VAC60-21-250(B) of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry, CE programs shall be clinical 
courses in dentistry or dental hygiene or supportive of clinical services. Courses not acceptable include, but are not limited 
to:  estate planning, financial planning, investments, business management, marketing & personal health. 

 

DATE NAME OF COURSE 
APPROVED 
SPONSOR 

NUMBER OF 
EARNED HOURS 

BOARD 
REVIEW 

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 

TOTAL HOURS____________ 
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Henrico, Virginia  23233 

(804) 367-4538 (Tel) 
(804) 698-4266 (eFax) 
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EMPLOYMENT VERIFICATION 
(Optional Form) 

(MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC) 
 
Name of Employing Dentist(s) or Agency:_______________________________________________________ 
 
Complete Mailing Address: __________________________________________________________________ 
 
Telephone Number:__________________________________ Fax Number:___________________________ 
 
Email Address____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
“I, ______________________________________________________ D.D.S./D.M.D./agency representative,  

   (Print name & Title of the Employing Dentist or Agency Representative) 

 
certify that ___________________________________, was employed by me as a ______________________ 

(Print Applicant/Employee Name) (Print Job Title) 

 
from ___________/____/_______ to ___________/____/_______, in the clinical, ethical and legal practice of a 

        Month  Day   Year           Month      Day     Year 
 
________________________________________________. 
                                                   (Job Title) 

 
 
_________________________________________ _____________________________ 
Dentist’s/Agency Representative Signature    Date 
 
 
 
State of ______________________________ 
 
County/City of ______________________________________________ 
 
 
Sworn and subscribed to, before me, this __________day of __________________, _________ 

Day  Month  Year 
 
My commission expires on ______________________________. 

Month Day Year 
 
       ____________________________________________ 

Signature of Notary Public 
SEAL/STAMP 

       ____________________________________________ 
            Print Name 
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FORM C 
CERTIFICATION OF DENTAL BOARDS 

 

Please forward one form to each state dental/dental hygiene board where you hold or have ever held a 
dental/dental hygiene license.  Some states require a fee, paid in advance, for providing this information.  To 
expedite, you may wish to contact the applicable state board(s).  Form C may be photocopied if copies are needed. 

 

I am making application for licensure in Virginia by: 
 
 

    Examination for Dental License     Examination for Dental Hygiene License     Dental Restricted Volunteer License 

    Credentials for Dental License     Credentials for Dental Hygiene License     Dental Hygiene Restricted Volunteer License 

    Dental Faculty License     Dental Hygiene Faculty License     Dental Reinstatement 

    Dental Temporary Permit     Dental Hygiene Temporary Permit     Dental Hygiene Reinstatement 
 
 

I, was granted License Type/Number ___________________________, on _________________________ by the State of  
                                                                                                                         Month           Date             Year 
 

__________________________. The Virginia Board of Dentistry requires that I submit evidence of the status of my license.  
You are hereby authorized to release any information in your files, favorable or otherwise directly to the Virginia Board of 
Dentistry at 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, Virginia  23233 or denbd@dhp.virginia.gov.  Your early attention is 
appreciated. 
 

________________________________ ___________________________ ________________________________ 
              Applicant’s Signature   Applicant’s Typed/Printed Name                 Applicant’s Address 
 

          ________________________________ 

 

Executive Officer of the Board:  please send this form directly to the Virginia Board of Dentistry. 
 

State of ____________________   Name of Licensee_______________________________ License #________________ 
 

Graduate of_______________________________   License Type_____________________ Issued__________________ 
 

By:      Examination*      Credentials      Reciprocity with the State of _____      Endorsement with the State of ______ 
 

*If licensed by a state administered examination, please provide a score card or report which shows that testing included live 
patients. 
 

License is:       Current-Expires________________        Active        Inactive       Lapsed-Expired________________ 
 

Has applicant’s license ever been disciplined, suspended or revoked         NO        YES 
 

If “YES”, give details and attach supporting documentation (Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Orders):_______________ 
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Comments, if any:____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
  ______________________________________      ____________________________        ___________________ 
 Signature Title                Date 
 

  ______________________________________ 
 Print Name 

 

 

SEAL 

mailto:denbd@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
mailto:denbd@dhp.virginia.gov

