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CONTINUING EDUCATION

Any person who holds a license as a nurs-
ing home administrator is required by the
Board of Nursing Home Administrators to
complete 20 hours of approved continuing
education for each renewal year. Only first
year licensees are exempt from this require-
ment.

To be approved, a continuing education
course shall be related to health care
administration and shall be approved by
the National Association of Boards of Ex-
aminers of Long Term Care Administrators
or by an accredited institution. An accred-
ited institution is defined in regulations, at
18 VAC 95-20-10, as  “..any degree-
granting college or university accredited by
the United States Department of Education
or any diploma-granting program approved
by the Virginia Board of Nursing.”

W |Licensees are required to maintain
8 | complete documentation of their continuing
& | education including evidence of attendance
provided by the approved sponsor. The

evidence may be a wall certificate or an
original computerized document and must
include:

The date or dates the course was taken
Hours attended

Participant’s name, and

Signature of an authorized representa-
tive of the approved sponsor.
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The Board conducts audits to verify that
continuing education requirements are be-
ing met in accordance with the Board's
regulations. The regulation can be found at
18 VAC 95-20-175 of the Virginia Adminis-
trative Code and can be accessed via the
Internet  at  http:/iwww.dhp.state.va.us.
Click on the Boards tab and scroll down to
Nursing Home Administrators.

Licensees are selected at random to be
audited. Those selected will receive a
cover letter and affidavit from the Board.
The licensee is expected to return the
signed affidavit and evidence of attendance

by the date specified. Failure to respond or @8
failure to complete the continuing education
requirements may lead to disciplinary ac- |
tion by the Board.

It should be noted that up to ten hours in
excess of the twenty required each year |
may be credited to the next renewal year. |
If you earn 30 hours in one year you can
use 10 of those hours for the next year.
Also, the Board may grant an extension of
up to one year or an exemption for all or
part of the continuing education require- 8
ments due to circumstances beyond the [§
control of the administrator; such as a certi-
fied illness, temporary disability, mandatory
military service, or an officially ~ declared
disaster.

NURSING HOME FACILITY HIGHLIGHTS

§ Congratulations to Arleigh Burke Pavilion on receiving it's 7th deficiency-free -
survey as conducted by the Virginia Department of Health's Center of Quality Health
: Care Services and Consumer Protection. Arleigh Burke Pavilion, located in
McLean, Virginia, serves about 90 residents and is administered -

by Robert DeMaria.

¥ ing of Virginians entrusted to their care.”

‘ Again congratulations on a job well done!

\ .
[ X‘L»A According to their Community Relations Department, “This deficiency-free
survey reflects great dedication and professionalism on behalf of the men '
§ and women employed at Arleigh Burke Pavilion to safeguard the health and well be- ;
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HIGHLIGHT YOUR FACILITY !
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The Board wishes to highlight deficiency-free nursing home

facilities in the upcoming editions of the newsletter. If you '
would like to nominate your facility, you may contact the
Board’s office at (804) 662-7457. l
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ENTERED NAME LOCATION SANCTIONS NATURE OF COMPLAINT
10/20/2000 Marsha Durham Big Stone Gap, VA Reprimand Facility Violation
10/29/2001 Charles Rehnborg ~ Oklahoma Revoked Not on-site full-time

Examination Fees

On June 15", 2001 the Board of Governors of the National Association of Boards of Examiners of Long Term Care Administra-
tors (NAB) approved nominal fee increases for its examination programs effective January 1, 2002. The fee changes are:

EXAMINATION Current Fee Fee Effective 1/1/02
Nursing Home Administrators Examination $235.00 $245.00
Assisted Living Administrators Examination $190.00 $195.00

State Law Examination $115.00 $120.00

After January 1, 2002 candidates will access the Information for Candidates Handbook electronically. Candidates who plan to
sit for the examination after January 1* can access the handbook and the fee payment form at www.nabweb.org. Once on the
NAB web page, click on programs then scroll down to the NHA handbook. It will be available in MSWord and PDF formats.

What You Need to Know about the “Flu” Vaccine —

Information for Nursing Homes
Prepared by Elizabeth Barrett, D.M.D., M.S.P.M
Assistant State Epidemiologist, Virginia Department of Health

All residents and staff need to be
vaccinated to prevent serious illness and
death in a facility. The only exceptions
are persons with a bona-fide allergy to
eggs or to the vaccine components. This
information can be deduced by asking the
following questions:

Do you eat eggs, including eggs in cookies
and cakes?
Anyone who answers “yes” is not allergic to

eggs.

Have you ever broken out in hives, experi-
enced respiratory distress, or anaphylactic
shock after receiving the flu vaccine?
Anyone who answers “no” is not allergic to
the vaccine or its components.

All persons admitted to a facility during
flu season (typically November-March)
should be vaccinated. Most facilities
hold annual vaccine campaigns during
October thru mid November. When
facilities fail to vaccinate persons admit-
ted after their campaigns end this results
in poor overall rates of vaccination and
increases the risk of an outbreak. Facili-
ties should delay giving the vaccine to
persons with an acute febrile illness until

their symptoms have passed. But should
not forget to administer the vaccine once
the resident have recovered.

No one can get the flu from the vaccine.
It is a killed-virus vaccine and it is
IMPOSSIBLE to become ill from it. It
takes approximately 2 weeks to develop
protective antibodies from the time of
vaccination.

When a new admission arrives, facilities

should determine if the person has

already received the flu vaccine. If it is ¥
this §
information, the vaccination should be €
administered, as it is not harmful to @
(The same information #
is true for the pnuemococcal vaccina- i

not possible to ascertain

receive it twice.

tion)

Call the local health department if§
assistance in beginning a flu prevention § e
program is needed. Some local health @ =

departments are willing to make visits to
nursing homes and hold a vaccine
in-service for the staff. Nursing Home

Administrators should call the local §

health department if their facility experi-

ences an increase in respiratory illnesses
during the “flu season” especially if it is
associated with hospitalizations or deaths.
Local health departments’ staffs are
trained in obtaining specimens to confirm
the flu and also in methods to prevent the

flu from spreading.
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CERTIFIED NURSING FACILITY EDUCATION INITIATIVE

By Delores Darnell

Member, Virginia Board of Nursing Home Administrators

The Certified Nursing Facility Educa-
tion Initiative, or CNFEI, was
developed as a result of a public-private
partnership to use civil Money Penalty
funds, which results from fines paid by
nursing facilities that are not in compli-
ance with federal survey guidelines, to
benefit nursing facility residents and
staff. Based on the federally mandated
surveys, about 25 to 30 % of nursing
facilities are deficiency free. There may
be deficiencies that are not considered
serious and they are noted with no
further sanctions. In more extreme
cases, the nursing facility may be
denied payment for Medicare and
Medicaid new admissions, be assessed
a Civil Money Penalty, or have their
Medicare and Medicaid certification
revoked. Revocation of Medicare and
Medicaid certification could result in
the residents having to be relocated. In
this situation, nobody wins.

Providers, state agencies, and advocates
agree that facilities needed education
and positive intervention at early stages
to correct problems and to maintain
ongoing compliance once corrections
were in place. Based on this vision, the
CNFEI was created by legislation in the
2000 General Assembly as a non-profit

corporation to provided services to
nursing facilities that would help them
to succeed. Civil Money Penalty funds
were used as “seed money” to
establish the corporation and to
provide the groundwork so that
services can be provided as cost to
interested nursing facilities. The
CNFEI was enacted with a sunset
clause (three years from the date of
enactment) to assure adequate assess-

ment of its effectiveness.

Priorities include assisting those facili-
ties that are having compliance issues,
including developing plans of
correction, and monitoring systems
put in place to assure quality of care.
CNFEI will focus on individual
facility = assessment and assistance
while working within accepted clini-
cal practice guidelines, which may
already be in place within the facility.
CNFEI will also serve as a repository
for “Best Practices”.
www.cnfeducation.com will direct
users forwards useful practice
information and CNFEI will offer

on-site reviews of existing and
proposed “Best Practices”
programming,.
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CNFEI Board of Directors include Betty
DeOrnellas, Robert Gerndt and Charles
Rehnborg, all Licensed Nursing Home
Administrators as well as representatives
from the Virginia Chamber of Commerce
and Agency representatives from the
Department of Health, the Department of
Social Services, the Department of Medi-
cal Assistance Services and the Office of
the Long-Term Care Ombudsman.

Delores Darnell is the Executive Director of
CNFEL She also is a Registered Nurse
certified in Gerontology, a Licensed
Nursing Home Administrator and
Preceptor who holds a
B.A. in Health Care Administration and has
an extensive background in long-term care.

CURRENT LICENSE STATISTICS

714
178
29

Nursing Home Administrators
Nursing Home Preceptors
Administrator in Training

Board Composition Changed

As a result of legislation passed by the 2001 General Assembly, the com
ministrators is being changed. While the Board will continue to have

ship in §54.1-3101 of the Code of Virginia were changed to:

position of the Board of Nursing Home Ad-
seven members, the provisions for member-

§ increase the number of licensed nursing home administrators from three to four,

§ decrease the number of persons from professions and institutions concerned with the care and treat-
ment of chronically ill and elderly patients from four to two, and

§ add one person who is a resident of a nursin

home.

g home, or a family member of a resident of a nursing

These changes will be implemented through the gubernatorial appointment process.
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YOUR COMMENTS ARE WELCOMED

In accordance with 18 VAC 95-10-50 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Board of Nursing Home
Administrators welcomes comments on any issue related to the laws and regulations governing the
practice of nursing home administration. The law governing such petition states the following:

Public Participation Procedures.

18 VAC 95-10-50 Petition for rulemaking

A. As provided in § 9-6.14:7.1. of the Code of Virginia, any person may petition the board to
develop anew regulation or amend an existing regulation.

B. A petition shall include but need not be limited to the following:

1. The petitioner's name, mailing address, telephone number, and, if
applicable, the organization represented in the petition.

2. The number and title of the regulation to be addressed.
3. Adescription of the regulatory problem or need to be addressed.
4. Arecommended addition, deletion, or amendment to the regulation.

C. The board shall receive, consider and respond to a petition within 180 days.

D. Nothing herein shall prohibit the board from receiving information from the public and
proceeding on its own motion for rulemaking.

A petition may be submitted in writing to the Board or
sent by e-mail to sandra.reen@dhp.state.va.us.




