Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Information for Patients / Parents and Legal Guardians

CBD Oil and THC-A Oil Registration Applications for Patients, Parents/Legal Guardians, and Physicians Now Available
The law currently provides for an affirmative defense for a patient, parent/legal guardian to possess cannabidiol (CBD) oil or THC-A oil as defined in §54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia who has been issued a valid written certification from a Board of Pharmacy-registered physician and who maintains a current registration with the Board of Pharmacy.  Before a physician can issue or continue issuing written certifications, he or she must now register with the Board of Pharmacy.  A patient/parent/guardian must have a written certification issued to them prior to applying for registration with the Board of Pharmacy and possessing the oils.

Patients, if you have been issued a written certification to possess CBD or THC-A oil pursuant to §18.2-250.1 within the last 12 months, submit the online application for obtaining board registration.  To assert the affirmative defense, an unexpired valid written certification issued from a board-registered physician and a current active patient registration issued by the Board of Pharmacy is necessary.  The online registration application is accessible on our Initial Applications site and may be renewed annually. 

Parents and legal guardians of patients who are minors or incapacitated adults, if you have been recently issued a written certification to possess CBD or THC-A oil pursuant to §18.2-250.1 for a minor or incapacitated adult or within the last 12 months, submit the online applications for both a patient and the parent/guardian in the following order:

  1. The parent/guardian residing at the same address as the patient should first submit the patient registration application. 
  2. The parent/guardian residing at the same address as the patient should submit the parent/guardian application. 
  3. Any other parent/guardian who has also been issued a written certification and in need of obtaining board registration should submit the parent/guardian application to the board. 

Each parent/guardian must obtain his or her own board registration.  The online registration application is accessible on our Initial Applications site and may be renewed annually.