Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov

Information for Physicians

CBD Oil and THC-A Oil Registration Applications for Patients, Parents/Legal Guardians, and Physicians Now Available
The law currently provides for an affirmative defense for a patient, parent/legal guardian to possess cannabidiol (CBD) oil or THC-A oil as defined in §54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia who has been issued a valid written certification from a Board of Pharmacy-registered physician and who maintains a current registration with the Board of Pharmacy.  Before a physician can issue or continue issuing written certifications, he or she must now register with the Board of Pharmacy.  A patient/parent/guardian must have a written certification issued to them prior to applying for registration with the Board of Pharmacy and possessing the oils.

Physicians, if you intend to issue a written certification for a patient to possess CBD or THC-A oil pursuant to §18.2-250.1 or have issued such certification within the last 12 months, submit the online application for obtaining registration from the Board of Pharmacy.  Now that the registration process has been implemented, issuing a written certification without maintaining Board of Pharmacy registration may compromise a patient’s affirmative defense to possess CBD oil and THC-A oil and is a violation of Board of Pharmacy regulation.  The online registration application is accessible on our Initial Applications site and may be renewed annually.  Once the registration has been issued, a link to the written certification form will be sent via email.  Please allow 7-10 days for processing the application and sending you the link to the written certification form.