Your Browser does not support JavaScript

Examination Information

Please select a profession from the dropdown to view examination information.

LCSW Applicants:

For more information regarding registering for the exam, contact the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) at 888-579-3926 or visit their website:  https://www.aswb.org/exam/

LCSW Examination – Frequently Asked Questions

What examination is required for LCSW?
For initial licensure, all applicants are required to sit and pass Clinical Examination administered by ASWB. 

How often can I take the Clinical Exam?
You can take the Clinical Examination multiple times.  There is a 90-day waiting period between examination attempts. 

When am I able to sit for the Clinical Exam?
All applicants for Licensed Clinical Social Workers are required to take and pass the Clinical Exam after they have completed their supervision experience.  After you complete your supervision, you must submit an online application for LCSW by Examination and wait for Board Approval to register and sit for the exam. 

How long do I have to take and pass the Clinical Exam?
The Clinical Exam must be passed within 2 years from the date of the date you were approved by the Board to register for the exam.  An applicant can take the examination at any point during the 2 years after they have received Board pre-approval.  The Virginia Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work do not grant the Board authority to approve examination extensions. 

Do I need to be under supervision if I have completed all the supervised hour requirements?
A social work supervisee must remain under Board-approved supervision until issued a license in Virginia as a licensed clinical social worker. Virginia law states that a person who has completed the necessary number of supervised hours but has neither passed the examination nor been issued a license as a LCSW, must NOT engage in social work practice except as a Board approved “supervisee in social work”. The only exception is if you are providing social work services in an except setting. You must hold a current Supervisee in Social Work Registration and be under the supervision of a Board-approved supervisor until you are issued a license as a LCSW.  

My Registration of Supervision will expire before the last date I am eligible to take the Clinical Exam, what should I do?
If you are approved to take the exam, but your Registration of Supervision is going to expire before your examination expiration date, you must submit an extension request to the Board to extend your Registration of Supervision. Please email the Board to begin the extension request process: socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov.

How do I register for the exam?
You should first review the ASWB Handbook and Website.  To register for the exam, please visit ASWB website.  The current exam fee is $260.00.  If you need assistance in the exam registration process, please contact ASWB at 888-579-3926.

I passed the exam. What happens next?
Following your exam, the results will be forwarded to the Virginia Board of Social Work approximately 7-10 days from your exam date. 

What is my university’s passing rate for the Clinical Exam?
The Virginia Board of Social Work posts the pass/fail data for the Clinical Exam by university. The ASWB provides this data to the Virginia Board of Social Work. Visit our website to review the Virginia Board of Social Work - Pass / Fail Summary.

How do I request accommodation?
If you have needs that prevent you from taking your exam under standard testing conditions, if you have a disability or other health condition, or if English is not your primary language, you may be eligible to receive nonstandard testing arrangements. You must request and receive approval for nonstandard testing arrangements before you register with ASWB to take the exam. 

ASWB is responsible for reviewing requests for testing accommodations. The Board does not receive, review, or approve testing accommodation requests. Please see the Nonstandard Testing Arrangements section of the ASWB website for requirements and process to request accommodation. If you have questions or need more assistance, please contact ASWB at exampc@aswb.org.

LMSW Applicants:

For more information regarding registering for the exam, contact the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) at 888-579-3926 or visit their website: https://www.aswb.org/exam/

LMSW Examination – Frequently Asked Questions

What examination is required for LMSW?
For initial licensure, all applicants are required to sit and pass Masters Examination administered by ASWB.

How often can I take the Masters Exam?
You can take the Masters Examination multiple times. There is a 90-day waiting period between examination attempts.

When am I able to sit for the Masters Exam?
All applicants for Licensed Master Social Worker credential can apply to take the Masters Exam after they have graduated with a MSW degree.  After you have graduated, you must submit an online application for LMSW by Examination to the Board and wait for Board Approval to register and sit for the exam.

How long do I have to take and pass the Masters Exam?
The Masters Exam must be passed within 2 years from the date of the date you were approved by the Board to register for the exam.  An applicant can take the examination at any point during the 2 years after they have received Board pre-approval. The Virginia Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work do not grant the Board authority to approve examination extensions.

How do I register for the exam?
You should first review the ASWB Handbook and Website. To register for the exam, please visit ASWB's website.  The current exam fee is $230.00.  If you need assistance in the exam registration process, please contact ASWB at 888-579-3926

I passed the exam. What happens next?
Following your exam, the results will be forwarded to the Virginia Board of Social Work approximately 7-10 days from your exam date.

What is my university’s passing rate for the Masters exam?
The Virginia Board of Social Work posts the pass/fail data for the Masters Exam by university. The ASWB provides this data to the Virginia Board of Social Work. Visit our website to review the Virginia Board of Social Work - Pass / Fail Summary.

How do I request accommodation?
If you have needs that prevent you from taking your exam under standard testing conditions, if you have a disability or other health condition, or if English is not your primary language, you may be eligible to receive nonstandard testing arrangements. You must request and receive approval for nonstandard testing arrangements before you register with ASWB to take the exam.

ASWB is responsible for reviewing requests for testing accommodations. The Board does not receive, review, or approve testing accommodation requests. Please see the Nonstandard Testing Arrangements section of the ASWB website for requirements and process to request accommodation. If you have questions or need more assistance, please contact ASWB at  exampc@aswb.org.

LBSW Applicants:

For more information regarding registering for the exam, contact the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) at 888-579-3926 or visit their website:  https://www.aswb.org/exam/

LBSW Examination – Frequently Asked Questions

What examination is required for LBSW?
For initial licensure, all applicants are required to sit and pass Bachelors Examination administered by ASWB.

How often can I take the Bachelors Exam?
You can take the Bachelors Examination multiple times.  There is a 90-day waiting period between examination attempts.

When am I able to sit for the Bachelors Exam?
All applicants for Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker credential can apply to take the Bachelors Exam after they have graduated with a BSW degree.  After you have graduated, you must submit an online application for LBSW by Examination to the Board and wait for Board Approval to register and sit for the exam.

How long do I have to take and pass the Bachelors Exam?
The Bachelors Exam must be passed within 2 years from the date of the date you were approved by the Board to register for the exam.  An applicant can take the examination at any point during the 2 years after they have received Board pre-approval.  The Virginia Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work do not grant the Board authority to approve examination extensions.

How do I register for the exam?
You should first review the ASWB Handbook and Website.  To register for the exam, please visit ASWB's website.  The current exam fee is $230.00.  If you need assistance in the exam registration process, please contact ASWB at 888-579-3926

I passed the exam.  What happens next?
Following your exam, the results will be forwarded to the Virginia Board of Social Work approximately 7-10 days from your exam date.

What is my university’s passing rate for the Bachelors exam?
The Virginia Board of Social Work posts the pass/fail data for the Bachelors Exam by university.  The ASWB provides this data to the Virginia Board of Social Work.  Visit our website to review the Virginia Board of Social Work - Pass / Fail Summary.

How do I request accommodation?
If you have needs that prevent you from taking your exam under standard testing conditions, if you have a disability or other health condition, or if English is not your primary language, you may be eligible to receive nonstandard testing arrangements.  You must request and receive approval for nonstandard testing arrangements before you register with ASWB to take the exam.

ASWB is responsible for reviewing requests for testing accommodations.  The Board does not receive, review, or approve testing accommodation requests.  Please see the Nonstandard Testing Arrangements section of the ASWB website for requirements and process to request accommodation.  If you have questions or need more assistance, please contact ASWB at exampc@aswb.org.

Virginia Board of Social Work
Email: socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov
Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director
Canek Aguirre, Citizen Member, Chairperson