Your browser does not support JavaScript

Radiologic Technologist - Limited - Application Wizard

Please choose one of the following:

I want to apply for a Radiologic Technologist-Limited license in Virginia

I want to reactivate a Current Inactive Status a Radiologic Technologist-Limited license

I want to reinstate my lapsed or expired license to be a Radiologic Technologist-Limited in Virginia

   

What you'll need in order to apply:

  • Review the full set of Laws and Regulations regarding the practice of a Radiologic Technologist-Limited in the state of Virginia
  • Carefully read through the application instructions.
  • Educational requirements:
    • Evidence of successful completion of a program that is directed by a radiologic technologist with a bachelor’s degree and current ARRT certification, has instructors who are licensed radiologic technologists, and has a minimum of the following coursework:
      • Image Production/Equipment Operation 25 clock hours
      • Radiation Protection -15 clock hours; and
      • Radiographic procedures in the anatomical area of the radiologic technologist-limited’s practice -10 clock hours,
    • OR for chiropractic, evidence of an ACRRT approved program
    • OR for bone density, evidence of ISCD certification for bone densitometry
    • OR for podiatry, submit a copy of the certificate/diploma from the Virginia Podiatric Medical Association.
  • Form T/C (1) Training Application (required for all anatomical areas with the exception of bone density), signed by the licensed radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine or doctor of podiatric medicine who will supervise your training, returned directly to the board office for approval.
  • Successful completion of the ARRT Limited Scope core examination with specific radiographic anatomical area examination
Applicants licensed in another state/jurisdiction:
 
  • NPDB Self-Query: Complete the online Place a Self-Query Order form and verify your identity.
  • License Verification: Please contact the applicable jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to practice 
    to inquire about having documentation forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine.

This application is a PDF form that will need to be printed, filled out and sent to:

Virginia Board of Medicine
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

What you'll need in order to apply:

  • Review the full set of Laws and Regulations regarding the practice of Radiologic Technology in the state of Virginia
  • Carefully read through the application instructions
  • Evidence of completion of the continued competency requirements specified in Virginia regulations 18VAC85-101-150(E).
  • Fill out the Reactivate an Inactive License for a Radiologist Technologist-Limited form and send to the Board, along with any applicable fees

Note: Reinstatement occurs after the license has been expired for 2 years. Do not proceed with the application if your license has been expired for less than 2 years

This application is a PDF form that will need to be printed, filled out and sent to:

Virginia Board of Medicine
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

What you'll need in order to apply:

  • Review the full set of Laws and Regulations regarding the practice of Radiologic Technology in the state of Virginia
  • Carefully read through the application instructions
  • Verification of professional licenses from all jurisdictions within the United States, its territories and possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a full license, sent directly from the applicable jurisdiction.
  • NPDE Self Query – Complete the online “Place a Self-Query” Order form.
  • Verify your identity. This can be done electronically as part of your ”Place a Self-Query” order or by completing a paper form and having it notarized.
  • Limited Radiologic Technologists must provide documentation of completion of 12 hours of continuing education acceptable to the ARRT within the two years preceding the date of the reinstatement application.
  • Copies of documentation supporting any name change since your initial licensure in Virginia.
  • If you answer “yes” to any questions from 5 to 17 on the application, provide documentation to the Board from your attorney or provide a narrative explaining your answer. Please provide court documentation for any convictions.
  • Fill out the Reinstatement application and send to the Board, along with applicable fees.

Please choose one of the following:

I have never practiced this profession, and do not hold an existing license in another jurisdiction

I have practiced this profession, and/or hold an existing license in another jurisdiction

   

What you'll need in order to apply:

  • Review the full set of Laws and Regulations regarding the practice of Radiologic Technology in the state of Virginia
  • Carefully read through the application instructions
  • In the “Employment Activity” section of the application, listing of all activities from the date of graduation from your professional school including not limited to internships, employment, affiliations, periods of non-activity or unemployment, observerships and volunteer service in the “Employment Activity” section of the application beginning with your first activity following professional school graduation.
  • A completed Form B or a letter of recommendation must be received from all locations of service,   places of practice or professional employment, observerships, professional research positions or  professional volunteer service listed for the 2 years immediately preceding application
  • Educational requirements:
    • Evidence of successful completion of a program that is directed by a radiologic technologist with a bachelor’s degree and current ARRT certification, has instructors who are licensed radiologic technologists, and has a minimum of the following coursework:
      • Image Production/Equipment Operation 25 clock hours
      • Radiation Protection -15 clock hours; and
      • Radiographic procedures in the anatomical area of the radiologic technologist-limited’s practice -10 clock hours,
    • OR for chiropractic, evidence of an ACRRT approved program
    • OR for bone density, evidence of ISCD certification for bone densitometry
    • OR for podiatry, submit a copy of the certificate/diploma from the Virginia Podiatric Medical Association.
  • Form T/C (1) Training Application (required for all anatomical areas with the exception of bone density), signed by the licensed radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine or doctor of podiatric medicine who will supervise your training, returned directly to the board office for approval.
  • Form T/E(1) Traineeship Application (optional): If you have submitted an application for a license and would like authorization to work as a trainee while awaiting results of the ARRT Limited Scope Exam, ISCD certification or completion of abdomen training.
  • Successful completion of the ARRT Limited Scope core examination  with specific radiographic anatomical area examination
  • NPDE Self Query – Complete the online “Place a Self-Query” Order form.

Virginia Board of Medicine
medbd@dhp.virginia.gov | Contact the Board
William L. Harp, MD, Executive Director
L. Blanton Marchese, President