Your browser does not support javascript

Application Wizard - Dental Hygienist

Please choose one of the following:

I am applying for a license for the first time and have passed one of the regional clinical exams, or need Board approval to take a regional exam

I have been licensed in another state, have passed a clinical exam and have been in practice for at least 5 years

I want to reinstate my Dental Hygienist license

I want to reactivate a Current Inactive Dental Hygienist license

I want to reapply for an unrestricted Dental Hygienist license

   

Examination  

Review Clinical Competency Examination Requirements Guidance Document:

60-26 Policy On Dental Hygiene Clinical Competency Examination Requirements For Licensure, adopted June 11, 2021

 Please read the instructions for the online application and follow the Apply Now button to begin the online application process.

 

 

Credentials  

You may qualify for licensure by Credentials

If applying by credentials, the examination results accepted are CRDTS, WREB, NERB/CDCA, CITA and ADEX from any year and the results of state administered examinations are accepted when the scorecard or report shows that testing included live patients

Licensure by Credentials is the pathway to licensure for an applicant who holds a license in another state, who passed a state administered clinical exam or one of the regional clinical exams, and who has recently practiced dentistry for at least 5 years. The applicant is additionally required to:

  • Hold a current active dental hygienist license in another jurisdiction in the United States which was obtained by successfully passing a clinical competency examination comparable to the exam required by the Commonwealth of Virginia. Submission of an original scorecard from the comparable exam or a letter from the testing agency, reflecting successful completion of the exam, is required.
  • Provide verification that they have had “clinical, ethical and legal practice for 24 months out of the previous 48 months immediately preceding application for licensure”. A notarized statement from each dentist and/or agency that has employed you within the four years immediately preceding the date of your application. The statement must include the printed name and address of the employer, must include the information noted on the optional employment verification form, and must state the months, days and years of your employment. Only original, notarized statements are accepted.

  Please read the instructions for the online application and follow the Apply Now button to begin the online application process.

Reinstatement Application  

When a license has not been renewed within one year of the expiration date, or a license has been suspended or revoked, a person may apply to reinstate their license by submission of a reinstatement application.

Please complete the Reinstatement application For Dental Hygienist.

Applications for reinstatement will need to be mailed to:

Virginia Board of Dentistry
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

Reactivate a Dentist License  

If you hold a Current Inactive Dentist license and wish to return to practice. Please complete the Reactivation application for Dental Hygienists.

Applications for reactivation should be mailed to:

Virginia Board of Dentistry
Perimeter Center 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

Reapply  

To reapply for an unrestricted license, please contact the Board at denbd@dhp.virginia.gov for a paper application.

Virginia Board of Dentistry
denbd@dhp.virginia.gov | Contact the Board
Nathanial C. Bryant, DDS President
Sandra Reen, Executive Director