Your browser does not support javascript

Application Wizard - Dentist

Please choose one of the following:

I am applying for a license for the first time and have passed one of the regional clinical exams, or need Board approval to take a regional exam

I have been licensed in another state, have passed a clinical exam and have been in practice for at least 5 years

I want to reinstate my License to practice Dentistry

I want to reactivate a Current Inactive Dentist license

I want to reapply for an unrestricted license

   

Examination  

Review Clinical Competency Examination Requirements Guidance Document:

60-25 Policy On Dental Clinical Competency Examination Requirements For Licensure, adopted June 11, 2021

Please read the instructions for the online application and follow the Apply Now button to begin the online application process.

  

Credentials  

You may qualify for licensure by Credentials

Licensure by Credentials is the pathway to licensure for an applicant who holds a license in another state, who passed a state administered clinical exam when the scorecard or report shows that testing included live patients, or one of the regional clinical exams, and who has recently practiced dentistry for at least 5 years. The applicant is additionally required to:

  • Hold a current, unrestricted license to practice dentistry in another jurisdiction in the United States which was obtained by successfully passing a clinical competency examination comparable to the exam required by the Commonwealth of Virginia and are certified to be in good standing by each jurisdiction in which you currently hold or have held a license.
  • Provide the Number of Hours of clinical practice for each dental position held within the six-year period prior to submitting an application. Hours must be reported per calendar year. To qualify for licensure by credentials the applicant must have practiced a minimum of 600 hours in each of five calendar years during the six years immediately preceding your application. The Board counts back six years from the date of receipt of an application.

 Please read the instructions for the online application and follow the Apply Now button to begin the online application process.

 

Reinstatement Application  

When a license has not been renewed within one year of the expiration date, or a license has been suspended or revoked, a person may apply to reinstate their license by submission of a reinstatement application.

Please complete the Reinstatement application For Dentist.

Applications for reinstatement will need to be mailed to:

Virginia Board of Dentistry
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

Reactivate a Dentist License  

If you hold a Current Inactive Dentist license and wish to return to practice. Please complete the Reactivation application for Dentist.

Applications for reactivation should be mailed to:

Virginia Board of Dentistry
Perimeter Center 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

Reapply  

To reapply for an unrestricted license, please contact the Board at denbd@dhp.virginia.gov for a paper application.

Virginia Board of Dentistry
denbd@dhp.virginia.gov | Contact the Board
Nathanial C. Bryant, DDS President
Sandra Reen, Executive Director