The occupations of Registered Nurse, Licensed Practice Nurse, Certified Nurse Aide, Licensed Massage Therapist, Medication Aide, and Nurse Practitioner (Only If You Have a Virginia Registered Nurse License) can renew your license online if you have received a renewal notice.
Nurse Practitioners Who Have a Registered Nurse License in Another Compact State:
You cannot renew a nurse practitioner license online if you have a registered nurse license in another compact state. You will need to provide a copy of your valid multi-state compact license in another compact state. (If your state does not issue a paper license for your registered nurse license, you will need to print a copy of your registered nurse license verification off your state’s license website.)
The fee for on-time renewal of a Nurse Practitioner License can be found on the Fees page. Remember that you must also renew your Registered Nurse License. If you have Prescriptive Authority, please add that fee to your total fee to renew this license. Make your check or money order payable to "Treasurer of Virginia" and attach a note to your payment that includes your name, correct address, Social Security number, and Virginia License number (if you know it). Mail this information to us at Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463. On a separate sheet of paper, please attest to the following:
For additional information concerning renewing your licenses online, please read the Frequently Asked Questions for our online renewal site.
Please see our Update Your Information page for details on how to update your name and/or address.
Verification of Virginia licenses are processed through the NURSYS online verification system. There is a $30 fee for NURSYS to verify your licensure to another state.
Click here to use the NURSYS online license verification system.
You can contact the NURSYS License Verification Department at (866) 819-1700
You can request a duplicate license or certificate online. If you need a duplicate license or certificate, you can send your request in writing along with the duplicate license fee (see regulations) Your check or money order must be made payable to "Treasurer of Virginia." Include your name, address, social security # and license or certificate # (if you know it). Please note that there is no fee for a duplicate Certified Nurse Aide certificate, but the request cannot be submitted online - a written request must be received before a duplicate C.N.A. certificate is issued. All requests for duplicate licenses may be mailed to the Virginia Board of Nursing at Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463.
Yes. These individuals are referred to as Registered Medication Aides. The Virginia General Assembly passed a law in 2005 that required the Board of Nursing to regulate medication aides in Assisted Living Facilities (ALFs) beginning July 2007. Initially there was a 12 month transition period to accomplish this task, giving ALFs until July 1, 2008 to assure that all medication aides working in Assisted Living Facilities were registered with the Board of Nursing. This date was extended by the General Assembly to December 31, 2008, and then extended a second time until August 1, 2009.
Eligibility requirements are:
• Complete a Board approved Medication Training Course;
• Complete and submit an Application for Registration by Examination to the BON, inclusive of fees; and
• Pass a standardized exam (administered by PSI, with a separate application to PSI and a separate fee payable to PSI) with a 70% passing score.
This does not apply to those individuals administering medications in Child Day Care Centers, Adult Day Care Centers, Mental Health Facilities, and Juvenile Justice/Corrections Facilities.
A letter from the employer stating dates of employment as a medication aide in an ALF.
More than one employer may submit a letter that confirms the following:
• 12 months consecutive employment;
• 12 months immediately prior to applying for registration by examination;
• Employment during these 12 months must be working as a medication aide in an Assisted Living Facility and must be completed by December 31, 2008.
The following items need to be submitted to the Board of Nursing for application by examination:
• A complete application for registration by examination (application available on our website);
• Application Fee (see regulations);
• Documentation of successful completion of direct care courses or CNA course:
• Documentation of successful completion of Board approved 68 hour curriculum or 8 hour refresher course. (Certificate of completion must include the program provider approval number assigned by the Board of Nursing.)
• If completing the 8 hour refresher course, must have documentation of 12 months employment as a medication aide in an ALF (prior to December 31, 2008).
• A passport photo that has been signed on the front of the picture (driver’s license pictures are not acceptable).
Or, may apply by endorsement for registration, submitting proof of registration in another state with application for registration by examination.
It is not a requirement of the Board of Nursing.
However, the regulations do require that applicants for the Medication Registry successfully completed the direct care training program approved by the Department of Social Services or have completed an approved nurse aide education program.
You can find the list of approved Medication Aide Training Programs with contact information on the Board's website. This list is updated on a daily basis as program providers are approved.
In addition, all approved program providers will have provider numbers that are only given to them once they are approved. These numbers must be on the certificate of completion that they provide to their students by the approved program provider.
The Board of Nursing does not have the authority to regulate trainers. Therefore, we do not track training courses and/or endorse any one train-the-trainer course.
Yes. They are two separately regulated occupations. They have different preparations for the roles and different job requirements involved.
The BON laws and regulations are silent on the title or abbreviation for registered medication aides.
The refresher course is an 8 hour module created from the Board approved curriculum for experienced medication aides that have worked for at least 1 year (consecutively) prior to applying to register as a medication aide. This is now (2009) only an option until August 1, 2009 IF the one year of experience as a medication aide in an ALF was completed on or before December 31, 2008.
To teach the refresher course, you must be a Board approved provider.
The refresher course module was issued with the curriculum after the provider has obtained program approval from the Board of Nursing.
The original regulations did not allow for endorsement from another state to be registered in Virginia. However, the revised regulations will accept medication aides that are registered in other states to take the Virginia state exam. They do not have to take the medication aide training or the direct care course. They must present documentation of registration in another state and sit for the state exam. The application for registration by examination has been adapted to include submission of the documentation for endorsement.
If a complaint is received about the practice of a person who holds a Registration as a Medication Aide, the Board has the jurisdiction to investigate that complaint and will determine if there has been a violation of Board of Nursing Laws and Regulations.
This is not considered to meet the American with Disabilities Act. The Board of Nursing has been advised that “only physical or mental impairments that substantially limit one or more major life activities are disabilities subject to the protection of the Americans with Disabilities Act.”
PSI currently has an examination tutorial available on their website (www.psiexams.com). This would greatly assist trainers, administrators, and potential medication aides to prepare to take the exam. It does not have medication aide specific questions, but it will prepare the candidate for the computer testing. It is simple and does not require significant computer skills. This tutorial will be helpful in building confidence and allaying test anxiety associated with computer testing.
This is an option that is available to applicants with experience as a medication aide working in ALFs until December 31, 2008. Each case is considered on an individual basis. A legitimate reason to be out on medical leave would not automatically disqualify you for this option. Please provide the information that you feel meets the requirements or contact someone at the Medication Aide Registry for further clarification. Please remember that this requirement is available to experienced medication aides. If you do not feel that your work time has adequately prepared you to take the state exam, you may want to consider taking the 68 hour course.
Psychology Services Incorporated (PSI) has testing sites all over the United States. For a list of all these sites, please go to their website and click on the map. You may click on any state and find their locations. There are several locations that are close to the Virginia border, specifically in Maryland and Tennessee. This does not mean that you are registered in any other state or that you can practice in any other state. It only means that you may test in another state. It would be the Virginia exam.
Within 2-3 business days after you pass the exam, that information is electronically transferred to the Board of Nursing. The registration is mailed to you in 7-10 business days after that. However, you do know when you leave the exam site if you have passed or failed. If you have passed, you know that you will be registered within 2-3 business days. You may check the License Lookup website to see if you are registered. If you have problems or concerns, please call the Medication Aide Registry at 1-804-367-4438 or 1-804-367-4420.
A "massage therapist" means a person who meets the qualifications specified in this chapter and who is currently licensed by the Board.
The practice of "massage therapy" means the treatment of soft tissues for therapeutic purposes by the application of massage and bodywork techniques based on the manipulation or application of pressure to the muscular structure or soft tissues of the human body. The term "massage therapy" does not include the diagnosis or treatment of illness or disease or any service or procedure for which a license to practice medicine, nursing, midwifery, chiropractic, physical therapy, occupational therapy, acupuncture, athletic training, or podiatry is required by law or any service described in § 54.1-3001(18).
"Massage therapy" shall not include manipulation of the spine or joints.
Pursuant to § 54.1-3008 (A)(7) of the Code of Virginia, it shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor for any person to engage in the practice of massage therapy or hold himself out as practicing massage therapy unless he holds a license as a massage therapist issued by the Board. In addition, many Virginia municipalities (counties and cities) have ordinances that prevent you from performing massage and/ bodywork unless you are a Virginia Licensed Massage Therapist. Therefore, you may want to also check local ordinances.
All the information needed can be found on the Board of Nursing's website. Nursing's page contains laws and regulations related to massage therapy licensure. Nursing's Applications page has links to access/download instructions and online applications to apply. Also check with the locality/jurisdiction where you plan to practice for any additional laws, regulations, and restrictions regarding massage therapy.
Yes. Pursuant to § 54.1-3005.1 of the Code of Virginia, effective January 1, 2017, the Virginia Board of Nursing incorporated both state and federal criminal background checks as part of the application process for Massage Therapists. This requirement applies to applicants by initial application, endorsement and reinstatement. Upon submission of an application, information on criminal background checks will be provided to the potential licensee. For more information about initiating this process visit the page.
No. Applications for initial licensure and licensure by endorsement as a massage therapist are accepted exclusively online. Applications for licensure by reinstatement as a massage therapist can be accessed and download from the Board of Nursing applications page and must be mailed to the Board of Nursing along with the required reinstatement application fee.
A list of all fees may be found in the regulations, 18VAC90-50-30.
All applications are processed in the order received and may take up to 30-45 working days to review. The length of time required to completely process an application for licensure varies depending on the completeness of the application, how long it takes for us to receive missing documentation (i.e. transcripts, exam results, verifications, criminal background check, court documents), and if there are causes for denial to consider, such as convictions, disciplinary action on another license, or disciplinary action in another state. Everything required for initial licensure can be found in the regulations, 18VAC90-50-40. Once the application is considered complete (all documentation required has been received) and your application for licensure has been approved, you should receive your license in the mail within 10 working days.
Note: Licensure by Endorsement can be found in the regulations, 18VAC90-50-50. Endorsement applies to a massage therapist who has been licensed, certified or registered as a massage therapist in another U.S. jurisdiction with requirements substantially equivalent to those states in 18VAC90-50-40, and who is in good standing or is eligible for reinstatement. Requirements for renewal/reinstatement can be found in the regulations, 18VAC90-50-70 and 18VAC90-50-75 (Continuing Competency Requirements).
To make sure your application is processed in a timely fashion, make sure your application is filled out correctly and completely with initial submission of your application. Make sure required supporting documentation (transcript, exam results, verifications, criminal background check, court documents, etc.) have been requested and forwarded to the Virginia Board of Nursing directly from the primary source. The Board of Nursing will not request your required supporting documents for you. It’s the applicant’s responsibility to ensure required supporting documentation is forwarded to the Board of Nursing directly from the primary source. If any of your supporting documentation is coming in a different name, fax or mail a copy of the legal document that changed your name to:
Department of Health Professions
Virginia Board of Nursing
Attention: Massage Therapy Licensure
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
Convictions do not automatically disqualify an applicant. The Board considers each application with convictions on a case-by-case basis. It is not possible to “pre-screen” applicants with such issues. The best thing to do is be honest, provide a detail written explanation of your conviction(s) (detailed explanation should describe the circumstances that caused each conviction, what happened, when it happened, why it happened, and what you have done or are doing to ensure these incidents will not happen again), and provide all relevant documents (i.e. certified court order, letters from court or probation officer, proof all fines and fees have been paid, proof community service has been completed if required, proof of completion of any treatment programs, etc.) for consideration. Please refer to Guidance Dcoument 90-59, Impact of Criminal Convictions on Registration of Medication Aides and Licensure of Massage Therapist in Virginia.
The law does not empower the Virginia Board of Nursing to act as an agency to verify credentials, only to verify credentials when you apply. Please use every resource available in order to obtain this information. If you have been licensed/certified/registered as a massage therapist in another jurisdiction and used the school information as documentation to apply, it should be available from that State Board.
You can also try obtaining your transcript using the following strategies if your school is currently closed:
The Board of Nursing will not accept copies of transcripts from applicants. All transcripts and verification of education must be mailed directly to the Virginia Board of Nursing directly from the primary source.
Massage Therapy Programs in the Commonwealth of Virginia are regulated by the State Council for Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV). If you attended a massage program in the Commonwealth of Virginia that is currently closed, please contact SCHEV at (804) 225-2600 or via the web at www.schev.edu for more information.
The Virginia Board of Nursing does not maintain a list of approved Virginia massage therapy programs for distribution to the public. Since the Board does not regulate these programs, inquiries regarding approved programs for massage therapy are directed to the State Council for Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV), which regulates these non-public vocational programs. Please contact SCHEV at (804) 225-2600 or via the web at www.schev.edu for more information.
The Virginia Board of Nursing no longer processes requests for verifications of licenses, certificates, or registrations. Our online verification system, License Lookup, provides the official Virginia verification and is updated in real time. Beginning April 16, 2020, requests for verification will be directed to License Lookup.
Biennially (every two years). License holders born in even-numbered years renew their license by the last day of the birth month in even-numbered years. License holders born in odd-numbered years renew their license by the last day of the birth month in odd-numbered years. Please refer to regulation, 18VAC90-50-70.
18VAC90-50-75(A) of the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists requires that in order to renew a license biennially, a licensed massage therapist shall:
1. Hold current certification by the NCBTMB; or
2. Complete at least (24) hours of continuing education or learning activities with at least (1) hour in professional ethics. Hours chosen shall be those that enhance and expand the skills and knowledge related to the clinical practice of massage therapy and may be distributed as follows:
a. A minimum of 12 of the 24 hours shall be in activities or courses provided by one of the following providers and may include seminars, workshops, home study courses, and continuing education courses:
(2) Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards;
(3) American Massage Therapy Association;
(4) Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals;
(5) Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation;
(6) A nationally or regionally accredited school or program of massage therapy; or
(7) A school of massage therapy approved by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia.
b. No more than (12) of the (24) hours may be activities or courses that may include consultation, independent reading or research, preparation for a presentation, a course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, or other such experiences that promote continued learning.
The regulations do not specify whether the hours can or cannot be done online. Please refer to regulation, 18VAC90-50-75.
A massage therapist whose license has lapsed may reinstate his/her license within one renewal period (two years) by attesting to completion of the continuing competency requirements for the period and payment of the current renewal fee and the late renewal fee. (see 18VAC90-50-30 for current fees)
A massage therapist whose license has lapsed for more than one renewal period shall file a reinstatement application, attest to completion of the continuing competency requirements for the period in which the license has been lapsed, not to exceed four years, and pay the current reinstatement fee. (see 18VAC90-50-30 for current fees)
There is a fee of $15.00 for replacing a lost or stolen license or requesting a duplicate copy. You can order a duplicate license online or mail a written request to:
Department of Health Professions
Virginia Board of Nursing
Attention: Massage Therapy Licensure
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
If mailing a written request, a check or money order should be made payable to: Treasurer of Virginia. Please allow 10-14 working days for processing and mailing.
A request to change the address of record may be made at any time by accessing your licensure information through the online system. A request to change your name on your license must be mailed, to the Virginia Board of Nursing. For a name change, you must also provide a copy of the legal document that changed your name (copy of marriage license, divorce decree, or court order). All request should include your first and last name, your current mailing address and your massage therapist license number.
Department of Health Professions
Virginia Board of Nursing
Attention: Massage Therapy Licensure
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
**If requesting another license under your new name, please see the previous question for requesting a duplicate.
The Code requires the Board to collect an official address of record but also to provide an opportunity for a health professional to provide a second address for the purpose of public dissemination. If there is no second (public) address provided, the official address of record will be used as the public address for the purpose of public dissemination. If the health professional would prefer that his/her address of record remain confidential, then an alternative public address must be provided to the Virginia Board of Nursing. An individual is not required to submit a place of residence for either the official address of record or the public address. A post office box or a practice location is acceptable.
Changes to either address may be made at the time of renewal or at any time by notification to the Virginia Board of Nursing through mail, fax or email. Changes to the address of record may also be made at any time by accessing your licensure information through the online system. Any change that is made to one of the addresses does not automatically update the other address. Address information should be kept current for the address of record and the public address (if different from the address of record) at all times.
18VAC90-50-20(C) in the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists requires that each licensed massage therapist shall conspicuously post his current Virginia license in a public area at his practice location. The license holder’s address is not displayed on the license to practice; however, the Department of Health Professions address is.
Additionally, 18VAC90-50-20(A) of the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists requires that each applicant or license holder shall maintain a current address of record with the Board. Any change in the address of record or the public address, if different from the address of record, shall be submitted electronically or in writing to the Board within 30 days of such change.
Yes, it is not a requirement to reside in Virginia to hold a massage therapist license. However, 18VAC90-50-20(A) of the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists requires that each applicant or license holder shall maintain a current address of record with the Board. Any change in the address of record or the public address, if different from the address of record, shall be submitted electronically or in writing to the Board within 30 days of such change.
Provisional licensure is available to an eligible candidate who has filed a completed application for licensure in Virginia, including completion of education requirements, may engage in the provisional practice of massage therapy in Virginia while waiting to take the licensing examination for a period not to exceed 90 days upon written authorization from the Board. A provisional license may be issued for (1) 90 day period and may not be renewed. The designation of “massage therapist” or “licensed massage therapist” shall not be used by the applicant during the 90 days of provisional licensure. An applicant who fails the licensing examination shall have his provisional licensure withdrawn upon the receipt of the examination results and shall not be eligible for licensure until he passes such examination.
The supervisory requirement and language has been eliminated for all categories of Nurse Practitioners except certified nurse anesthetists. NP’s now practice “in collaboration and consultation” with a patient care team physician.
Yes, you are required to establish and maintain a practice agreement with the patient care/collaborating team physician. However, neither board approval nor submission of a copy of the practice agreement to the board is required. Please Do NOT submit your practice agreement to the BON unless requested.
Under the July, 2012 law the prescriptive authority practice agreement and protocol language are included in one document, electronic or written. This document should be maintained by the NP and readily available upon request.
No, a specific format or template is not required and therefore, not available on the Board of Nursing website. Please refer to BON Guidance Document #11 for assistance, which can be found on Nursing's Guidance Documents webpage. Additionally, professional associations such as the VA Council of Nurse Practitioners may provide further guidance.
Yes, the new law retained the provision requiring periodic review of charts or electronic medical records and may include site visits by the team physicians for NP’s practicing in all settings. However, the requirement of the team physician to regularly practice at the same site as the NP has been eliminated.
Under the new law, it is 6:1.
No, collaboration and consultation may occur via telemedicine.
The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) allows a nurse to have one multistate license with the ability to practice in the home state and other compact states.
To learn more about Virginia's participation in the NLC, please see our Nurse Licensure Compact Information page.
No, however you should maintain your documents. (18 VAC 90-19-170)
30 days from the date requested. [18VAC90-19-170 (A)]
No, other than described in 18 VAC 90-19-170. You may maintain your records in any format.
The Board has no mechanism for review and approval of CE courses. Please ensure the course is approved by one of the entities listed in 18 VAC 90-19-160 (B).
18 VAC 90-19-160 (B) requires anyone renewing with expiration date beginning August 2015 to have met the requirements for renewal and to attest to that in order to renew your license. Therefore you would have to have completed continued competency activities during the 2 years preceding your renewal date if it occurs after August 2015. Example: Expiration date for RN license is November 20, 2015, continued competency activities would have to have occurred prior to August 2015, between November 30, 2013 and November 30, 2015.
Use this as an example: If expiration date is May 2014, you are not required to have continued competency activities prior to May 2014. However, when renewal is submitted in May 2016, you will need to attest to these activities between May 2014 and May 2016, 2 years prior to the renewal date.
Progressive disciplinary action may occur if you do not respond to Board communications and do not engage in activities to meet the requirements.
Yes. If you are involved in activities that meet the requirements.
Yes. See definition of active practice in 18 VAC 90-19-10.
No. The regulations deem these entities as approving bodies. [18 VAC 90-19-160 (B)]
Please see the Continuing Education section of our website. Board staff are not authorized to further interpret laws and regulations.
Yes, as long as otherwise meets the requirements in 18 VAC 90-19-160 (A) and (B). The regulations do not specify the educational modality or method of delivery.
No. The credits have to be obtained during the current renewal cycle.
Basic life support; CPR; courses that are not nursing related such as emergency evacuation procedures, art therapy classes, general Spanish course (note – if course was “Spanish for Health Care Providers” it would be accepted).
Yes. [18 VAC 90-19-160 (A)]
No. [18 VAC 90-19-160(C)]
Yes, however you may only use the hours/activities that are nursing-related.
Yes, as long as you meet one of the options for continued competency. [18 VAC 90-19-160 (A)]
No. The continued competency requirements are for active licenses only.
No. You must complete one of the options fully in order to meet the requirements.
1. Who is required by the VBON to receive a criminal background check? All Registered Nurse (RN), Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), and Licensed Massage Therapist (LMT) applicants seeking initial licensure by examination, endorsement or reinstatement are required to obtain a CBC.
2. Will I be required to obtain a criminal background check when I renew my license? No, CBC requirements do not apply to licensure renewal applicants.
3. Do the new criminal background requirements apply to CNAs or Medication Aides? Currently the CBC requirement does not apply to Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs) or Registered Medication Aides (RMAs).
4. When am I required to obtain a criminal background check? Once your application is received by the VBON for initial RN, LPN or LMT licensure by examination, endorsement or reinstatement, you are required to obtain the CBC.
5. If I am applying for license endorsement or reinstatement, how far in advance from when I plan to begin working should I get fingerprinted in order to expedite my approval of licensure? You may request a CBC once your application and fee are received by VBON (See FAQs related to fingerprinting process).
6. If I recently moved to Virginia from a compact state, do I need to have another criminal background check? Yes; CBCs are required for every initial RN/LPN/LMT licensure application submitted to the VBON, including by endorsement from another state. State Boards of Nursing are prohibited from sharing CBC information with each other.
7. I currently have a multi-state license privilege and will soon be practicing in Virginia but will not be declaring Virginia as my Primary State of Residence; do I need to have a criminal background check? If you are not required to submit an application for licensure as an RN or LPN, then the CBC requirement does not apply to you.
8. I am a new graduate; can I take the NCLEX® while my application is being processed and reviewed? If you submitted an application for licensure by examination and you meet the minimum applicable VBON regulation requirements, you may be eligible to receive an Authorization to Test (ATT/Eligibility) letter. This letter allows you to practice for up to 90 days from the date of graduation and take the NCLEX exam.
9. I am a new graduate and I want to go to work as soon as possible, can I have a temporary permit while my criminal record background check is pending and application is under review? If you submitted an application for licensure by examination and you meet the minimum applicable VBON regulation requirements, you may be eligible to receive an Authorization to Test (ATT/Eligibility) letter. This letter allows you to practice for up to 90 days from the date of graduation and take the NCLEX exam.
10. Why is it necessary to obtain my fingerprints rather than running a search on my name? Fingerprint-based background checks are processed through both FBI and state criminal databases presenting a complete criminal profile of the applicant. Conversely, non-fingerprint background checks or “name checks” are not nearly as comprehensive and run the applicants background against a limited amount of predetermined records which are commercially available. Therefore, a name search only would not give the VBON complete information.
11. Who is responsible for paying for the criminal background check and how much does it cost? The applicant is responsible for paying for the criminal background check. The cost is $35.95 for Inside Virginia applicants and $38.95 for Outside Virginia applicants and paid directly to Fieldprint.
12. I was recently fingerprinted by another agency do I still need to be fingerprinted for the VBON? Yes; you will need to be fingerprinted for the VBON licensure process. Any fingerprints that you have submitted in the past are not retrievable or transferable from other state or federal agencies.
13. Who will be obtaining the fingerprints for my criminal background check? Your fingerprints will be collected at a Fieldprint site location. The prints will then be sent to Virginia State Police.
14. Where can I get my fingerprints electronically processed? You will get your fingerprints electronically processed by Fieldprint at a Fieldprint site location. Go to Fieldprint Virginia and click on “Our Locations” to find a location closest to you.
15. Is there a different fingerprinting process for out of state applicants? Since fingerprints are submitted electronically from Fieldprint to the Virginia State Police, the only difference in the fingerprinting process for out of state applicants is the cost.
16. What about applicants from out of the country? If you are out of the country, you will not be able to have your fingerprints collected until you are physically present in the United States.
17. Am I able to cancel or change my scheduled fingerprinting appointment if needed? Yes, you will need to contact the Fieldprint appointment location you selected 24 hours prior to your appointment time to cancel or reschedule.
18. What do I need to bring with me to the electronic fingerprinting site? Two (2) forms of identification, at least one (1) of which must be a valid government-issued photo ID and your appointment number (found on your appointment confirmation receipt received through Fieldprint Virginia).
19. How does the electronic fingerprinting process actually work? Livescan (electronic) fingerprints are captured electronically, via a digital image that can be transmitted electronically; this provides for a faster and more accurate fingerprint collection process.
20. How long will it take for my fingerprints to be processed? Results of fingerprint-based checks are typically processed within 2-4 business days. Note: Results are ultimately dependent upon processing times of the Virginia State Police (VSP) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), which are subject to change.
21. I am nearing graduation from my nursing program. How far in advance from my graduation date can I get fingerprinted in order to expedite my approval of examination? You may request a CBC once your licensure application and fee are received by VBON.
22. Who has access to my fingerprints and criminal record? The applicant’s fingerprints are submitted directly to Fieldprint (contractor with VBON) and are electronically scanned through a secure site to the Virginia State Police (VSP) Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). No other entities have access to the applicant’s fingerprints. The criminal history record of arrests and prosecution (“RAP” sheet) will only be accessible by VBON CBC staff.
24. Will my fingerprints be kept on record and for how long? Fieldprint will maintain, archive and store all live-scan fingerprint transmissions to VSP for a time period specified by the VBON. The purpose of maintaining an archived database is to eliminate redundant fingerprinting of the applicant in the rare cases of lost prints as well as satisfying any statutory record keeping or retention requirements.
25. What should I do if I am notified that my electronic fingerprints were lost or illegible? Applicants should contact Fieldprint by accessing your account through Fieldprint Virginia directly to reschedule an appointment free of charge.
26, Whose responsibility is it to make sure that the criminal background results are securely delivered to the VBON? The Virginia State Police (VSP) Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) will submit results electronically via secure transmission or by confidential mail directly to the VBON CBC Unit.
27. If I have a criminal history, what documents am I required to provide? The burden is on the applicant to provide any documentation that would prove or disprove a criminal conviction, or if appropriate, provide any mitigating or aggravating evidence regarding a criminal conviction and proof of completed court ordered requirements.
28. If have a criminal history that includes an offense that was taken under advisement or deferred for a period of by a court, should I disclose this as a conviction? If the offense did not result in a conviction or was dismissed then this information does not need to be disclosed on your licensure application.
29. Are there any convictions that are considered a permanent bar to licensure? Each applicant is considered on a case-by-case basis. Virginia law related to nursing licensure does not include any permanent bars to licensure.
30. What criminal offenses on my criminal record may interfere with my ability to get licensed? The VBON has published guidelines regarding the impact of criminal conviction history on licensure applications in accordance with state law, Virginia Code Section 54.1-3007 and nursing regulations. The VBON may refuse to admit a candidate to any examination, or refuse to issue a license or certificate to any applicant with certain criminal convictions. Criminal convictions for any felony or misdemeanors involving “moral turpitude” may prevent licensure or certification. Please see also VBON Guidance Document 90-10 and VBON Joint Guidance Document 90-55 for more detailed information.
31. Who is responsible for interpreting the results of the criminal background check? The Board has delegated authority to the VBON CBC Unit staff receives and interprets the CBC results.
32. Can I get a copy of my criminal background check results? In accordance with state/federal laws, after the VBON receives the results, they cannot be disseminated further. This also includes to the applicant.
33. What if I disagree with the results on my criminal background check, can I challenge them? You will have an opportunity to challenge the accuracy of the results, in accordance with the Applicant’s Rights (See: How to Challenge and How to Obtain Your FBI Identity History Summary (FBI brochure) & Applicant Challenge Instructions (VSP).
34. Can the same criminal background check be used to satisfy the requirements for both the VBON and an employer? No, the VBON has no authority under the law to disseminate an applicant’s CBC results to another entity.
35. What does it mean that my application is ‘non routine’ and will this slow down or impair my licensure process? A “non-routine” application means that an applicant has disclosed on their licensure application or the CBC revealed information that may be grounds for a denial under Virginia Code Section 54.1-3007. This may include criminal conviction history, possible impairment concerns or disciplinary action taken in other states. This will add time to the licensure application approval process.
36. Does the VBON have the right to deny my application for licensure or otherwise discipline my license and/or privilege to practice based on my criminal history record results? See FAQ answer #30 and VBON Guidance Document 90-12.
37. I have received a letter from the VBON that states my application cannot be approved based upon the criminal background check, but I do not have any convictions that are cause for licensure denial. Why would this occur? See also FAQ #33. Each application is considered on a case-by-case basis. An applicant can appeal his or her case, requesting reconsideration of the VBON’s decision and request an Informal Conference (IFC) to meet with representatives of the VBON to consider your application. This information would be included in communication received by the VBON.
38. If I am not approved for licensure based on my criminal background check results what are my options? See FAQ answer #37.
39. If I do not pass the NCLEX and have to reapply for licensure, will I have to resubmit fingerprints for another criminal background check? How long are the criminal record check results considered valid? If you re-apply for licensure by examination and it has been over one year (1 yr.) from the date you previously completed the fingerprinting process for the VBON, you are required to have another fingerprint-based criminal background check.
Call 804-367-4515 Monday – Friday 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Your call will be directed to your CCM who will:
Even if you believe you understand what your Order requires of you, please discuss its terms with your CCM when you first receive the Order.
After you speak to your CCM, you will need to send the CCM an Initial Contact Form, also known as a Compliance Form #1
Your call with your CCM included discussion of what forms you might need to submit while under your Order. Most of the needed forms are available on our Forms page:
Reports may not be faxed or e-mailed to your CCM. Requests for approval may be faxed.
Your CCM will send you any forms the two of you may discuss that are not available online.
Reports are to be submitted as specified in the Order, such as:
Forms should be submitted to the Board of Nursing, in care of your Nursing Compliance Case Manager at the Board’s address. The most current address for the Board can be found on its website and on the cover letter for your Order.
It is your responsibility to ensure forms completed by others are received on time by your CCM, even if you are not the one who should complete the form.
Your CCM will not routinely acknowledge receipt of your reports, but will let you know if a scheduled report is not received in the Board office. If in doubt about a report, call your CCM!
Be sure you have sufficient blank report forms on hand as the Board will be informed of any late or missing reports. You can save online forms to your own computer or to a portable flash drive for later printing offline.
“Regular” reports are those you are ordered to submit on a regular schedule, for example:
Regularly scheduled reporting forms must be received within five (5) days before until five (5) days after the last date of the reporting period specified in your Order. (So, a quarterly report due on March 31 must be received by your CCM between March 26 and April 5.)
It is your responsibility to ensure forms completed by others are received on time by your CCM, even if you are not the one who should complete the form.
Always submit Self-Reports – whether you are working in your field or not.
It is up to you to provide the Board with evidence that you are compliant with your Order and eligible for release from its terms.
As you complete the requirements of each term, send your CCM the written proof of your compliance, such as:
Remember -- if it is “not documented” it is “not done”!
It is important that you keep a copy of every document you send to your CCM. Maintain these copies until the Board of Nursing releases you in writing from the terms of your Order.
Call your CCM to discuss a request for approval before beginning the approval process.
Board approval is a pre-approval; you must submit your request for Board approval no fewer than 15 days before you need the approval. The Board may decline to accept proof of compliance from a non-approved source.
Several forms for requesting Board approval are available online. Requests for approval are a cooperative undertaking between yourself and the potential third party for whom you seek approval:
The more detail provided with your early request, the less likely it will be that the Board’s decision is delayed. The Board of Nursing's fax number is 804-527-4455.
Board approvals may be phoned, faxed or e-mailed to you and will also be mailed. No approvals will be express mailed.
Your request is not Board-approved until you get that approval in writing!
Your length of employment at a job is calculated from the date of the Board’s approval of the position until the date of your resignation or termination.
Requests for approval of employment must include at least the following information sent directly from the potential employer to your Compliance Case Manager c/o the Board of Nursing:
If your Order requires Board approval of an evaluator, you and the potential evaluator are required to complete the appropriate request form together, so that you each sign and complete a portion of the same original form.
Continuing education approval:
If your Order specifies the title and provider of the course(s) you are required to take, no other course is acceptable unless you request approval of a substitute course, provide a rationale for your request, and are granted Board approval for the substitution before completing the substitute course.
If your order does not specify the title of the CE course(s) you are to complete, but requires approval of CE courses, you must find an appropriate course to submit for approval:
You must obtain the latest course information, including credit hours and course content, from each such CE provider and forward it to your CCM as a part of your request for Board approval.
There is no form associated with payment of a monetary penalty. Make your check or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. Include with or on your payment your license number and a note that the payment is to be used for a monetary penalty, not license renewal.
Mail the check and note to your CCM at the Board of Nursing's address. There are no plans at this time for these fees to be payable online or through credit card or debit card.
Any monetary penalty (or late fee) imposed by the Board which remains unpaid after the Board’s deadline will be sent for collection.
If you believe the Board is investigating any complaint or allegation against you or your practice while you are under terms of an Order, you should continue to comply with your current Order and cooperate with the Board in its investigation.
If you stop submitting reporting forms or complying with your Order, it could affect the outcome when the Board considers the report of that investigation or your compliance and eligibility for release from the Order.
There is no form for requesting release; however, you must petition for, or request, release from your Order in writing.
Submit your written request to your CCM who will then craft a summary report regarding your compliance with the terms of your Order. The CCM will forward your petition and the compliance summary report to the Board for its consideration.
The Board will write to you if they need you to appear at an informal conference to consider your petition.
If you stop submitting reporting forms or complying with your Order before you are released from the Order, it could affect the outcome when the Board considers the report of your compliance and eligibility for release from the Order.
Do not consider yourself released from your Order until you receive written notification from the Board that it has released you from the terms of its Order.
Call your CCM who will be glad to help you!
Virginia Board of Nursing
Jay P. Douglas, MSM, RN, CSAC, FRE, Executive Director
Brandon A. Jones, MSN, RN, CEN, NEA-BC, President